Ice Cream “Baked Potato” Dessert

Ice Cream Potato

Although my car probably has a lot of life left in it I would love to have something a little larger. In the same way that they should have height limits on some of the roller coasters at 6 Flags (speaking from experience, I hurt after riding one I was obviously too tall for)… they should also have height limits on little cars! “No one over X feet tall is allowed to ride/drive” – you know, that kind of warning.

I suppose most people would say a warning like that is not necessary because common sense would tell you that; but apparently when I was 19, I did not find that important! I thought my little car was pretty cool, and I didn’t  bother to think about driving long distances with my knees above the steering wheel. Okay… so it’s not really that bad.

Regardless, I am sure you can imagine my excitement this morning when our of nowhere Mr. Swan announced that today, he was buying me a new car! Turns out that was just a bad – very bad – April Fool’s joke. And I wasn’t laughing.

I wanted to get in on the game too. So, I decided that tonight our meal would consist of 2 baked potatoes one for the meal and one for dessert…. an ice cream “baked potato” that is! He is getting a much better deal than I did.

I am trying to teach him that when playing an April Fool’s joke on your spouse you should make it seem bad and then have it turn out to be something much better. He did it the wrong way, I guess he doesn’t understand how this works!

This idea came from Sandra Lee and it is posted on the Food Network website. She used a whole pint of ice cream and made a big potato. I used about 3/4 cup of ice cream for each potato and made them smaller. Just form the ice cream into a potato shape and cut a slit in the top:

Coat with cocoa powder:

And don’t forget to add the toppings. I sprinkled nutmeg “pepper” and dried mint leaf “parsley” on top of mine instead of using pistachios:

Ice Cream “Baked Potatoes”

Ingredients for Each Potato:

  • 3/4 cup Vanilla Ice Cream
  • Cocoa Powder
  • Whipped Topping
  • Yellow Frosting
  • Nutmeg
  • Dried (or Fresh) Mint Leaves

Directions:

Dip about 3/4 cup of ice cream into a small bowl lined with plastic wrap. Fold the plastic wrap around the ice cream and seal it. Quickly form the ice cream into a potato shape with your hands. Cut a wedge across the length of the potato. Wrap up in the plastic wrap and seal again at edges. Place in the freezer for 20-30 minutes.

Remove the ice cream from the freezer, unwrap and coat completely with cocoa powder.
Fill the wedge with whipped topping and place a pat of “butter” frosting on top. Sprinkle with nutmeg and mint leaves. Serve immediately.
Comments
4 Responses to “Ice Cream “Baked Potato” Dessert”
  1. Megan says:

    I could eat this potato with every meal! So cute.

  2. Natalie says:

    love this! what a clever idea. thanks for your creativeness krista!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Ice Cream Baked Potato From Meet The Swans […]

  2. […] alas is gone. so sad. } goodbye slice + bake cookies cookies { from scratch. delicious. } goodbye clever april fool’s day recipe { i think you’re awesome! } goodbye shoe closet { i made you. out of wood. never done that […]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

