Complete Kitchen Makeover

Finished Kitchen3

I LOVE my new kitchen and I’m so proud of the time and work we put into our home to update it from the way it was when we purchased it. You can imagine my excitement when I first saw this week’s theme on The CSI (Create Something Inspiring) Project website is Kitchen Makeovers! Not only that, but the winner of this week’s challenge will get two free gallons of Dutch Boy paint!!

We are just getting ready to dive into our next major remodeling/re-construction project this weekend so we will be needing some of that paint very soon… ahem!

I am entering our home kitchen makeover in the Kitchen Makeover Challenge at The CSI Project. Click the link to visit The CSI Project website and see all of the other fabulous kitchen makeovers!

Visit thecsiproject.com

You may remember what our kitchen looked like before? I first posted pictures of it back in August, 2010.

And then, a few months later, I gave you an update of what it looked like when it was “finally functional“. Since that time I’ve spruced the room up with some decorations, so now I give you the before and after photos.

As you can tell from the photos we completely gutted out the kitchen ourselves and also removed the wall between the kitchen and the living room, I love the new openness in those rooms.

The kitchen before we started:

The kitchen before we started, doorway here leads to the living room:

The kitchen before we started, one doorway leads to a room we made into an office, the other doorways lead to a bathroom and a bedroom:

The kitchen before we started working, left side of photo shows part of the room we made into an office (also before we started in that room!):

The kitchen, cabinet removal in progress:

And I can’t leave out the view from the living room looking towards the kitchen before the wall was taken out:

Tearing down this thick plaster was hard work:

We even gutted the ceiling:

The same view, after the wall was taken out:

Insulating the walls:

And the ceiling:

The drywall going up:

And after the makeover – love my extra tall cabinets that go all the way to the ceiling:

Looking at the kitchen from the living room. Except for a small doorway, this was all wall before:

And another look from the living room:

My walk-in pantry. This used to be a closet for the bedroom on the other side of the wall. That room is no longer going to be a bedroom so we closed the other side of the wall and put doors on this side. The doors match our cabinets:

Love my 4′x8′ island top and all of the storage I have in my island drawers:

This is the wall across from the window and sink, also love the “kitchen” picture I made. I entered that in a previous CSI challenge! You can see how I made it by clicking here.

New oven and microwave. The oven is in the same place the old oven was:

Our new ceiling with can lights:

View out the kitchen window:

From the kitchen looking into the living room. Again, except for a doorway, this was a wall before:

And another view:

The right side of the sink with our fridge:

Comments
3 Responses to “Complete Kitchen Makeover”
  1. Liz says:

    LOVE the island … the kitchen turned out gorgeous …

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] of this kitchen is fabulous.  It is magazine ready and I love the beam detail on the ceiling! Meet The Swans This is my kind of project, I love the demo, and the way they reworked the floorplan!  Smart and [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

