Apple Pie and Pie Crusts

While I was at home this weekend my mom needed three pies….

So I made homemade crusts using the always reliable and tasty Betty Crocker recipe included below. Two empty crusts which my mom made into chocolate pie and pecan pie:


And a third which I filled with apples I cut and froze from our apple tree last fall:


The finished apple pie:


Betty Crocker Pie Crust Recipe:

1/3 cup + 1 Tbsp. shortening
1 cup flour
1/2 tsp. salt
3-4 Tbsp. water

Works really well to make three crusts at one time!

Comments
2 Responses to “Apple Pie and Pie Crusts”
  1. Krista Joy says:

    Hi Nichole! Glad you are reading!

    I don’t add anything. Just slice and put in a gallon ziplock bag in the freezer. When they thaw they do turn brown, but that doesn’t matter if you are using them in baked goods (for most baked goods). If you don’t want the browning then add lemon juice or another fruit preservative to prevent that. After you let them thaw, drain the juice off the apples and then add the flour/sugar/spices like you would when making an apple pie with fresh apples.

    Let me know if you have other questions. Nice to hear from you!

  2. nichole says:

    The Betty Crocker Recipe is fantastic. I like using butter flavored shortening. Do you add anything to your apples when you freeze them? I’ve never tried it.

    -nichole augustine (I know, random, right?)

Leave a Reply

