Fudge Layer Crumb Bars

Last night I was asked to have supper for four people ready in about 45 minutes. I was busy with the “real” food so I made these bars because they are quick, easy and delicious! My mom made these a lot growing up, these were one of my favorites to take on my day to bring snacks.

The Fudge Layer Crumb Bar recipe is from cookbook sold in my hometown about 20 years ago. It is an excellent cookbook and I start looking in it when I need a recipe for nearly everything.

Start by using a pastry cutter to blend a cake mix, an egg and 1/3 c. butter:


Melt 1 can sweetened condensed milk with 1 c. chocolate chips:


Press 2/3 of the cake mix mixture into a 9×13 pan and spread chocolate mixture on top:


Sprinkle top with remaining cake mix mixture and bake for about 25-30 minutes at 350 degrees.


Here is the recipe:

1 yellow cake mix
1/3 c. butter
1 egg

14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
1 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

I actually used a white cake mix because it’s what i had on hand and it works just as well! I’ve made it with a chocolate cake mix in the past and I’ve made it with a chocolate cake mix and white chocolate chips. Personally I prefer the original to any of the alterations I’ve tried, but make it to your preferences.

Leave a Reply

