#4. Frozen Raspberry Truffle Cupcakes

As I described in an earlier post, the reason I started making these “frozen cupcakes” was to enter the Ice Cream Cupcake Roundup 2009 contest sponsored by The Cupcake Project and Scoopalicious. By the time I made these I was becoming pretty experienced at making frozen cupcakes and I liked these the best so I decided the “Frozen Raspberry Truffle Cupcakes” were the best one to enter. From my experiences making the others I came up with an idea to make the ice cream layer a little more attractive. I flattened the ice cream about 3/4 of an inch thick in a pan and the put into the freezer. I used a circle cookie cutter to cut perfect circles and then placed the ice cream circles on top of the cupcakes. For these the ice cream layer is different than in the others because I mixed together vanilla and chocolate ice cream and added chopped chocolate and raspberry truffles. I made homemade truffles, but any truffles could be used. To make the cupcakes I modified the Chocolate Fudge Cupcakes (click link for recipe) on the Wilton website. Like I’ve explained before, I like to convert part of the milk to sour cream and I usually prefer to use cocoa instead of chocolate so I’ve also made that change. I added chopped raspberry truffles to the dough as well, although you could skip that or add raspberry flavoring instead.

The cupcakes:


The ice cream mixture which includes both vanilla and chocolate ice cream and chopped homemade chocolate and raspberry truffles:


The chocolate cupcakes with the “ice cream circle” on top:


Frosted with chocolate cream cheese frosting and topped with a raspberry:


The recipes:

Chocolate Fudge Cupcakes:

1 1/4 c. butter
2 c. sugar
4 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
2 c. flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1 1/2 c. cocoa
1/2 c. sour cream
1 c. milk

Cream butter and sugar and beat in eggs. Add vanilla. Mix together dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, baking soda and cocoa. Add to butter mixture alternatively with sour cream and milk.

Divide into 24 cupcakes in prepared cupcake pans and bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes.

Let cool. Cut of rounded tops to make a flat surface for the ice cream. Freeze.

Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Ice Cream:

Being with vanilla ice cream and chocolate ice cream. Drop scoops of both randomly into a 9×13″ pan. Chop chocolate and raspberry truffles. I like to keep them in fairly large pieces so they can be easily seen in the ice cream. Use as many truffles as you like. Sprinkle on top of ice cream in pan and press together until the ice cream layer is level and 1/2 to 3/4 of an inch thick. Place pan in freezer until frozen. Remove from freezer and use a circle cookie cutter about the size of the top of the cupcakes to cut the ice cream into circles. Place circles on top of cupcakes and return to freezer.

Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting:

Make White Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting (click link to go to recipe) and substitute chocolate for the white chocolate or stir in cocoa and adjust water accordingly. Spread or pipe the frosting onto ice cream. Garnish with a raspberry if desired and return to freezer until serving.

Comments
4 Responses to “#4. Frozen Raspberry Truffle Cupcakes”
  1. Bethany says:

    wowie! these sound great! I love the idea of the cookie cuttered ice cream as well! Who knew! What a fantastic flavor combo!

    Bethany@Scoopalicious

  2. Sara says:

    Mmmm, this sounds amazing! That ice cream with the truffles mixed in sounds absolutely divine!

  3. Stef says:

    Love the idea of using a cookie cutter on the ice cream. Neat! Thanks for entering!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] in the Ice Cream Cupcake Contest. Remember my Rich Red Regale for 2010? Or what about my Frozen Raspberry Truffle Cupcakes from […]



Leave a Reply

