"Best" Banana Bread

I am constantly searching for new recipes and I almost always feel the need to change recipes in some way… it’s very hard for me to completely follow a recipe without making some alterations. Changing recipes is part of the fun in baking!

I’ve been doing this since I was in Jr. High and it drives my mom crazy. When I baked growing up I was usually baking something for her to take somewhere and she always had a specific recipe in mind that she wanted me to use. She did not like when I wanted to change it and she could not understand why I would rather experiment than make something the way the recipes said.

One of our biggest disagreements throughout the years has been over banana bread. She always wanted me to make this one recipe, the “best” banana bread recipe. But there are a countless number of banana bread recipes, how could I stick to that one? After going through many different banana bread recipes over several years, I have finally decided to agree. And I made it without making a single alteration, just to show that is really is good. This recipe comes from a local cookbook that is my mom’s “go to cookbook” for nearly everything.

In banana bread, it works well to use bananas that are turning brown:


Here is the finished banana bread, the loaf on the right has walnuts in it:


And here it is, the “best” banana bread recipe:

1 c. butter
2 c. sugar
4 eggs
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
6 Tbsp. sour cream*
2 c. bananas, mashed
4 c. flour

*May substitute 6 Tbsp. milk plus 1 tsp. vinegar

Cream butter, sugar and eggs. Add salt, soda, and spices. Beat in mashed bananas and sour cream. Stir in flour. Spoon batter into loaf or muffin pans (2 large loafs or about 5 small loafs) and bake at 350 (F) degrees for 50-60 minutes for a larger loaf or 30-40 minutes for a small loaf, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Depending on what you like add: pecans, walnuts, chocolate chips, raisins.

Comments
4 Responses to “"Best" Banana Bread”
  1. thank you so much for repling! i ended up googling another recipie 😦 it turned out good, but i am so anxious to try yours!
    Thanks again 🙂 love your blog!!

  2. HELP!! what temp and do i cook this on, we are making it now!

    • meettheswans says:

      Hi Tiffany! So sorry I didn’t see your comment sooner – I see it’s been a few hours so it’s probably too late to help you now! I’ve revised the recipe instructions to show 350 (F) degrees for 50-60 minutes (for a large loaf). 350 is a pretty standard temp for baked goods so I hope you were able to guess that or something close and that it turned out great for you! So great to hear you tried the bread!!

Leave a Reply

