On The Lighter Side

In case you don’t feel like eating cake anytime soon after all my talk yesterday about eggs, shortening and sugar, check out these bars. The original recipe is Delicious Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars at allrecipes.com. I lightened them up a bit by using only 1/2 the butter the recipes say and replacing the other 1/2 of the butter with applesauce. I also used reduced fat butter (Imperial has 70% fat butter and Blue Bonnet has 50% fat butter – either works fine in this recipe). In my recipe below I’ve included an additional 1/4 c. of flour or oat to the topping because the mixture is thicker with applesauce than what it would be with butter. I also use less jam than the recipe says and any flavor I feel like. If you’d like to go even further, use sugar-free jam. I you are using jam that was previously opened and came from the fridge it will be easier to spread if you place the jam for the recipe in a bowl and microwave about 10 seconds before spreading.

I think these still taste good – so do all my friends that have tried them – but because of the changes the crust is chewier than what it would be if you used all regular butter. I also don’t bake them nearly as long as the recipe says.


Here is my recipe:

1/2 c. light brown sugar
1 c. rolled oats
1 c. flour
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/8 tsp. salt
1/4 c. reduced fat butter
1/4 c. applesauce
1/4 c. flour or oats
1/2 c. jam

Combine brown sugar, oats, flour, soda, and salt. Use a fork or pastry blender to mix in butter first and then add applesauce. Press about 1/2 of the mixture into the bottom of a greased 8″ square pan. Spread jam over the crust. Add 1/4 c. flour or oats to the remaining mixture for the topping and sprinkle over the jam. Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes. Allow to cool before cutting into bars.

Leave a Reply

