Chewy Fudge Brownies

In my opinion, these are the best brownies ever!

….. Rich and Chewy and Chocolaty!

The original recipe is from the All-American Dessert Book (click link to purchase the book on Amazon.com) on pages 272-273. The book contains a lot of amazing dessert recipes!

The part of the original recipe I do not like is that it calls for 11 oz. of bittersweet chocolate and 2 oz. of unsweetened chocolate because I do not usually buy either. I have modified it by substituting cocoa plus butter for a portion of that and semi-sweet chocolate chips for the other portion. The recipes also called for unsalted butter. I also never buy unsalted butter so I used regular and eliminated the salt, works just fine. The recipe already had coffee in it – which is great! The coffee add richness to the brownies. Personally, I think the coffee is what makes these brownies, but if you do not like the idea of using coffee, you can substitute water.

The recipe:

1 1/4 c. butter
2 c. sugar
1 c. cocoa
1/4 c. coffee, strongly brewed
1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 Tbsp. vanilla
4 eggs, slightly beaten
1 3/4 c. flour
2 c. chopped nuts (optional)

Melt butter with sugar, cocoa and coffee. Stir in chocolate chips until melted. Add vanilla. Allow mixture to cool (if mixture is too warm the eggs will curdle) and blend in eggs. Stir in flour and nuts (if using) until evenly blended. Pour into a greased 9″x13″ pan and bake for about 20-25 minutes in preheated 350 degree oven.

Comments
7 Responses to “Chewy Fudge Brownies”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] similar to the Cheesecake Marble Brownies I made, but with POM pomegranate juice. I began with my Chewy Fudge Brownie recipe. Then I made a mixture of cream cheese, sugar, egg, and flour which I swirled into the […]

  2. […] more appropriate name. I followed the recipe exactly for the brownies (actually very similar to my Chewy Fudge Brownie recipe before I switched the unsweetened chocolate to cocoa) and the cheesecake, but I left the […]

  3. […] by meettheswans on October 1, 2009 · 1 Comment  Although I think Chewy Fudge Brownies are wonderful without any additions, I figured swirling in a cheesecake mixture could only make […]

  4. […] is on p. 134 of the book. The only thing I changed (other than the name) is that I used my homemade Chewy Fudge Brownies recipe instead of a fudge brownie mix the recipe called for. The recipe is […]

  5. […] making Brownies with Cookie Dough Frosting a couple weeks ago (See: Chewy Fudge Brownies and Brownies Just Got Even Better), I thought: what about putting the cookie dough frosting in the […]

  6. […] night I made Chewy Fudge Brownies which I highly recommend. As if they aren’t good enough on their own, I decided to add […]

  7. […] followed her cheesecake recipe exactly, but I used my own Chewy Fudge Brownies for the brownies in this cheesecake. After baking the brownies cut into small 1/2″ squares. […]



Leave a Reply

