Cookies for a Cause: Easy Roll Sugar Cookies

My sister is participating in Relay For Life this weekend, a team event to fight cancer put on by the American Cancer Society. She, along with her team, worked to raise money for the ACS and she also needed to take cookies which will be sold during the event. This is where I helped out! Together we made sugar cookies and shaped them into ribbons, hearts and stars. The sugar cookie recipe is from the hometown cookbook I refer to frequently… and I didn’t even change it (see recipes below). It’s the perfect cookie recipe for roll-out sugar cookies. We didn’t have a ribbon cookie cutter so we cut strips of cookie dough about 1/3″ wide and 6″ long and then formed a loop and folded them over to create the “ribbon” cookies. We used buttercream frosting colored off-white and purple to decorate the cookies and added red sprinkles to some of them. Then we put a ribbon cookie, a heart cookie and two star cookies in each bag.


Easy Roll Sugar Cookies:

1 c. butter
1 c. sugar
2 egg yolks
1/4 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
3 c. flour
1/3 c. milk

Cream butter. Beat in sugar, egg yolks and vanilla. Blend in dry ingredients alternatively with milk. Chill dough. Roll about 1/4″ (depending on how thick you want the cookies to be) and cut with cookie cutter. Bake on a greased cookie sheet in 350 degree preheated oven for 8-10 minutes.

Comments
2 Responses to “Cookies for a Cause: Easy Roll Sugar Cookies”
  1. Krista Joy says:

    That’s great!! Glad to hear you feel confident after seeing what I did. I’m always getting great ideas for sugar cookies and then think… if only I had the right cookie cutter! Good Luck!

  2. Melissa says:

    Great post! I’ve been searching the web for directions on how to do cause-ribbon cookies without a cutter. I thought it wouldn’t be too difficult but I always feel better if I can see someone has done it before. I’m planning to make a batch of green ribbon cookies (supporting organ donation) because on Sunday it is the first anniversary of my liver transplant! Yea! Definitely an occasion to celebrate with cookies!

Leave a Reply

