First Wedding Cake

I’m excited to have successfully finished my first wedding cake! The brave girl who was willing to let me make her wedding cake was Laura, who I lived in a house with for a year during college. Laura was great to work with and I’m so thankful that she let me make her cake!

All of the final cakes have two 2″ layers. There were several different flavor combination’s, listed below.

First I baked all of the layers and leveled them. For the most part everything went well. I did have to re-make one of the 10″ round cakes. If came out of the pan fine, but later I broke it when trying to move it. Here are some of the cakes:


Then I filled all the cakes. The 6″ round is White Cake with White Chocolate Almond Filling. The 8″ round is German Chocolate Cake with Dark Chocolate Filling. The 10″ round in White Cake with Raspberrry Filling. The 12″ round is German Chocolate with Coconut Pecan Filling. One 9″x13″ is White Cake with White Chocolate Almond Filling and the other is Chocolate Cake with Dark Chocolate Filling. Here are the filled cakes:


Next I frosted all the cakes with Butterccream Frosting. For the three round layers that I needed to put supports in, I measured out where the supports would go:


I covered the round cakes with fondant, imprinted the crosshatch design on the 6″ and 10″ cakes, put the supports into the cakes, and placed the separator balls (from the Globe Pillar and Base Sets) on top:


And here is the finished cake:

Comments
2 Responses to “First Wedding Cake”
  1. Holly says:

    It looks great! Awesome job, Krista!

Leave a Reply

