No Bake Chocolate Oat Bars

I started with this recipe for No Bake Chocolate Oat Bars at allrecipes.com. I thought the amount of butter it called for was quite a bit for the other ingredients so I used only 1/2 c. butter. I left all the other ingredients that same except for I decreased the oatmeal down to 2 1/2 c. I also made it in a 9″ round pan instead of a 9″ square pan. I decided on this recipe because I was serving supper to some friends that night and was moving soon after so I wanted to use up some odds and ends so I had less food to move. I had to choose a recipe without eggs (already used those up) and I wanted something with oatmeal and I had just enough to make this recipe which also finished off my chocolate chips. The other think I had some of that I wanted to use was some leftover chocolate and almond truffles that I made. I chopped those and sprinkled them on top of the chocolate mixture. I also added a bit of almond extract to the oat mixture to enhance the almond flavor.


Here’s what I did:

1/2 c. butter
1/2 c. brown sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. almond extract
2 1/2 c. oatmeal
1 c. chocolate chips
1/2 c. peanut butter
4 chocolate and 4 almond truffles, chopped
1/2 c. oatmeal

Melt butter in saucepan and then added brown sugar and extracts. Stir in oats and cook for about 3 minutes. Press 2/3 of mixture into the bottom of a greased 9″ square or round pan and reserve the remaining portion for the topping. Melt chocolate chips and stir in peanut butter until well mixed. Spread onto the crust. Sprinkle the chopped truffles on top of the chocolate mixture then add the other 1/2 c. oatmeal to the remaining oat mixture and crumble over the chocolate layer. Cover and refrigerate at least 2 hours. Bring to room temperature before cutting.

This recipe can easily be doubled for a 9″x13″ pan.

Leave a Reply

