Banana Oatmeal Cookies

I eat a lot of bananas but sometimes I overestimate what I can eat and I end up with some that turn brown. When this happens I remove the peel and put the banana in a bag or Tupperware in the freezer. After I have accumulated several bananas… I bake! I decided to try something different than banana bread as I would normally do (see “Best” Banana Bread for that recipe) and got the idea to try Oatmeal Cookies with Bananas. I started with an oatmeal cookie recipe I like and added the mashed banana. Then I added flour and oatmeal to get back to the consistency that an oatmeal cookie dough should be. The end result is a very moist cookie that is almost like a banana cake or banana bread! Be sure to bake it long enough though – it will take a few minutes longer than typical oatmeal cookies. I baked one pan using the recipe below. Then to the remaining dough I added chocolate chips and walnuts which made the cookies even better!


1 c. butter
1 c. sugar
1 c. brown sugar
2 eggs
1 c. mashed bananas
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
2 1/2 c. oatmeal
4 c. flour
chocolate chips and walnuts, if desired

Cream butter and sugars. Beat in eggs and mashed bananas. Stir in vanilla, baking powder, soda, and cinnamon. Add oatmeal and flour. Bake on greased cookie sheet in preheated 350 degree oven for about 10-15 minutes. (That’s a big range, but use your judgment to determine when the cookies are done. Mine took about 15 minutes, but I also made very large cookies.)

Leave a Reply

