Brownie Marshmallow Krispie Bars

I recently picked up a new cookbook called “Favorite Brand Name Baking”. As the title suggests, the recipes use “brand names” such as “M&M” or “Nestle”, etc. From what I can tell, I think many of these recipes are probably from the backs of products. I have only had the chance to make a few items from it, but so far I have liked them all.

The first recipe I tried was called “Marshmallow Krispie Bars” but I added “brownie” to the name, since the base of these bars is a brownie. The recipe is on p. 134 of the book. The only thing I changed (other than the name) is that I used my homemade Chewy Fudge Brownies recipe instead of a fudge brownie mix the recipe called for. The recipe is below:


1 pkg (21 oz) DUNCAN HINES Family-Style Chewy Fudge Brownie Mix
1 pkg (10.5 oz) miniature marshmallows
1 1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 c. creamy peanut butter
1 Tbsp. butter or margarine
1 1/2 c. crisp rice cereal

Preheat over to 350 degrees. Grease bottom of 13×9 pan.

Prepare and bake brownies following package directions. Remove from oven. Sprinkle marshmallows on hot brownies. Return to oven and bake for 3 more minutes.

Place chocolate chips, peanut butter and butter in pan. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until chips are melted. Add rice cereal; mix well. Spread mixture over marshmallow layer. Refrigerate until chilled. Cut into bars.

Leave a Reply

