Blueberry Streusel Muffins

I still had some blueberries left to use after making Blueberry Chocolate Chip Cookies so I also made blueberry muffins. I used the recipe for Blueberry Muffins in the classic Betty Crocker Cookbook and added the streusel topping using the recipe found on the same page as the muffin recipe. The same recipes I found in the cookbook can also be found online at the Betty Crocker website. This rarely happens, but since I was using a recipe directly from a published cookbook (as opposed to a recipe website) I did not change anything… well I did add some extra cinnamon! Not to the topping, but I put about 1/2 tsp. in the muffins.


Here is the Betty Crocker recipe:

Cinnamon Streusel Topping:
1/4 c. flour
2 Tbsp. packed brown sugar
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
2 Tbsp. firm margarine

Mix flour, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Cut in butter with pastry blender until crumbly.

Muffins:
1 c. milk
1/4 c. vegetable oil
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 egg
2 c. flour
1/3 c. sugar
3 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 c. fresh blueberries

Beat milk, oil, vanilla and egg until well blended. Stir in 2 c. flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt just until dry ingredients are moistened. Gently stir in blueberries. Scoop into greased or lined muffin pan. Sprinkle each with ~ 2 tsp. streusel topping. Bake in preheated 400 degree oven for about 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.

Comments
2 Responses to “Blueberry Streusel Muffins”
  1. Krista Joy says:

    I’m sure they will turn out great for you too… of course it’s a great recipe – it’s from Betty Crocker! Thank you for your comment and thanks for visiting my blog!

  2. Sook says:

    That’s funny cause I was looking at Betty Crocker baking book today and saw this very recipe on there. I wanted to try it so bad but didn’t have the ingredients. Your muffins look fantastic! I will have to try it for sure.

Leave a Reply

