Fresh Garden Salsa

Salsa is something that never lasted long in my household. My family and I could easily eat an entire jar in one sitting. Although I love any salsa, it is hard to beat a homemade fresh salsa. When I was growing up my family always planted a large garden with many different vegetables. Now that we are all older and in high school/college we are all gone a lot and busy with our own activities, leaving less time to spend maintaining the garden. My parents have decrease the garden size quite a bit, and actually all that is left now are those ingredients needed to make salsa. I have been making this for a few years now, but it is hard to say what the exact “recipe” is. I do not really measure out the ingredients but below is an estimate of what you can do. Sometimes I use bell peppers and other times I use hotter peppers. Depending on your taste preferences you may want to use hotter peppers or more or less peppers. I have also used different kinds of onions, it you would like to add more color use red onions.


Chop tomatoes, peppers, and onions – After chopping a 2:1:1 ratio of tomatoes:peppers:onions is probably a good place to start, then alter to fit your preferences

2 c. chopped tomatoes
1 c. chopped onions
1 c. chopped peppers
2 tsp. salt
1/2 c. chopped fresh cilantro
lime ~ 1 Tbsp. lime juice
Pepper to taste

Chop tomatoes, onions, and peppers and stir together in a large bowl. Add salt and mix well. Refrigerate ~ 30 minutes, then drain off the extra juices. Chop fresh cilantro and stir into drained vegetable mixture. Cut a lime in 1/2 and squeeze over mixture to get ~ 1 Tbsp. fresh lime juice. Add pepper to taste if desired. Refrigerate.

* I like this better with all fresh ingredients, but can also use dried cilantro or purchased lime juice. If using dried cilantro, reduce amount.
* I think this tastes best after being chilled for several hours, to allow all flavors to mix. The finished product will keep for a couple days in the fridge… if it lasts that long!

Leave a Reply

