Banana Cake from Cake Mix Base

I have a great recipe for banana cake from scratch (after typing that I checked and realized that I have never posted that on here, so will add it in the future) but I decided to try a recipe using a cake mix base. I found the recipe for Wonderful Banana Cake at allrecipes.com and chose it to start. Instead of a yellow mix, I used a white one (it’s what I had on hand) and I used 3 bananas as suggested by reviewers. I also added 1/4 c. sour cream and some cinnamon. In addition, I baked it in a preheated 350 degree oven instead of setting the cake in a cold oven as the recipe suggested.

I though the cake had an excellent texture, very light. However, it had only a slight banana flavor, not as strong as other banana cakes I have had. I took these into my office and many great compliments – no one seemed to mind that the banana flavor was not real strong and in fact, some liked them better because of that!


Here’s what I did:

White Cake Mix
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cinnamon
3 bananas, mashed well

Stir baking soda and cinnamon in with the dry cake mix. Add the correct amount of water, eggs, and oil listed on the box mix plus 1/4 c. sour cream and mix following the box instructions. By hand, stir in the mashed bananas – before doing this be sure the bananas are mashed very well.

Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 25-30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

