Banana Cake

Earlier this month I posted a recipe for Banana Cake from a Cake Mix Base. In that post I said that I realized I had not posted a recipe for my from-scratch-banana-cake and that I would do that soon.

I have no idea where this recipe is originally from, but I do know that I copied it down when I came across it in someone elses’ binder of collected recipes. It actually calls for chocolate chips; I think it’s great with or without chocolate chips. I have never tried this, but adding some walnuts would be another variation. It is tasty with or without frosting. Normally I frost this banana cake with a simple cream cheese frosting or dust with powdered sugar, but the pictures below just show the cake.

1 1/2 c. butter
1 1/3 c. sugar
1 1/3 c. brown sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
2 c. mashed bananas
4 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
4 c. flour
2 c. chocolate chips, if desired

Cream butter and sugars. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Mashed bananas to get 2 c. mashed and beat in to butter/sugar mixture. Stir in baking powder, salt and flour; and chocolate chips if using. Spread batter in greased 9″x13″ pan and bake in preheated 350 degree oven 25-30 minutes or until done.

Leave a Reply

