Puppy Chow Cookies

Wow! It’s been nearly a week since my last post – hope I didn’t lose anyone!

I just received word yesterday that my thesis was accepted – I am so excited that I have achieved that milestone! Although that is completely done now, I am working on creating a journal article based on it to submit for possible publication and I’m in the middle of a move… so unfortunately my number of posts may be a little less than in November during my POM Series of posts! However, it IS the holiday season now and that always calls for baking! Now, for my 1st December post:

You have had “Puppy Chow” right? Or maybe by a different name?

Let me describe it…. Chex or Crispix cereal coated in a chocolate and peanut butter mixture and the covered in powdered sugar.

I’ll make it soon and post a recipe. But in the meantime, check out the cookie version. I was inspired by the recipe for Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookie Treats at the Betty Crocker website. I made homemade peanut butter cookies and omitted the butter from the chocolate and I think “Puppy Chow Cookies” are an appropriate name.

The recipe:
Cookies:
1/2 c. butter
1/2 c. peanut butter
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. brown sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. baking soda
1 1/2 c. flour

Cream butter, pb, sugars, egg and vanilla. Mix together dry ingredients and stir into creamed mixture. Shape into 1″ ball and place on greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Cool completely.

Chocolate for Dipping:
8 oz milk chocolate
1/2 c. peanut butter
1 tsp. vanilla

Heat chocolate and peanut butter until melted, stir in vanilla. Place 2 c. powdered sugar into large ziplock bag. Dip cooled cookies, only a couple at a time, into mixture then immediately place into the bag, seal, and turn to coat the cookies with powdered sugar. Remove cookies from bag and place on a cooling rack to set.

Comments
One Response to “Puppy Chow Cookies”
  1. Wow. These look fantastic!
    – Krista

Leave a Reply

