Cookbook Review: 400 Sensational Cookies

I received the new cookbook: 400 Sensational Cookies by Linda J. Amendt from the publisher to review. I love getting new cookbooks AND reviewing them, because I love to bake/cook and I want to publish my own someday!

I tried several of her recipes and have included my finish product pictures below. I don’t want to give away all of her fabulous recipes, but you can click to see her recipe for Dark Chocolate Espresso Cookies. If you like baking new cookie recipes, this cookbook will definitely give you a good bang for your buck, with 400 “sensational” cookie recipes!

Although I feel like I have a pretty good understanding of the “science” behind baking ingredients and their role in recipes, I still found Linda’s detailed description of “ingredients for flavor-packed cookies” following the introduction of the book. She also presents information on all possible baking equipment and tools that you could ever dream of using… like dough tamper? I didn’t even know what that was! (In case you are wondering now: “a dough tamper is designed to evenly press balls of dough into miniature muffin cups to shpae the crust for tassie-type cookies…”).

Regardless of whether you are a beginner baker or a seasoned cookie expert, I think the 14 pages section entitled “baking perfect cookies” will be helpful to you.

I wanted to bake several recipes before writing the review. I selected a single recipe from 5 of the difference cookie chapters. Now, which recipes did I try first??

White Chocolate Coconut Cookies (Drop Cookies) – page 43

A delicious combination of coconut and white chocolate, with just a hint of almond flavor.

Chocolate Dipped Cappuccino Sticks (Hand-Shaped Cookies) – page 82
By shaping the dough into sticks, these aren’t your typical cookie. They are tasty and would add interest to a variety of cookies for a party, event, or gift!

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies (Chocolate Chip Heaven) – page 123
The book has numerous different versions of chocolate chip cookies and I just had to try one right away. These are unique due to the combination of butter and shortening and all-purpose and cake flour. Some of the people in my office said these were some of the best chocolate chip cookies they’d ever had! Considering how much I bring goodies into my office… that is a huge compliment!

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (Oatmeal Cookie Delights) – page 147
The cinnamon and pecans in this recipe really add flavor! (I didn’t get a picture of these!)

Oatmeal Pumpkin Cookies (Oatmeal Cookie Delights) – page 157
This recipe is from the same chapter as the Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, but right around Thanksgiving and Christmas I had to try it. The use of pumpkin with oatmeal in the cookies is unusual, but good nonetheless. A are very moist and dense cookie.

White Chocolate Pumpkin Blondies (Bars and Squares) – page 318
Another recipe I chose because pumpkin was an ingredient! I thought these were delicious and very moist. The addition of white chocolate sets these apart from a typical pumpkin bar. These are frosted with the white chocolate cream cheese frosting recipe included with the blondies.

This is just the beginning! As I use more recipes from this book over time, I’ll refer back to this post and this cookbook. There are a number of other chapters and recipes to explore!

Click Here to buy this cookbook!

Comments
2 Responses to “Cookbook Review: 400 Sensational Cookies”
  1. Krista Joy says:

    I’ve used it a lot! You’ll have to let me know how you like it.

  2. Tia says:

    I am going to order it. I have been wanting this since I first saw it, so thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

