Ultimate Dark Chocolate Espresso Cookies

In December I posted a review of the cookbook 400 Sensational Cookies. I really do love this cookbook and I can’t stop trying new recipes in it… so here is another: Ultimate Dark Chocolate Espresso Cookies. I added my own “special touch” by rolling the balls in sugar crystals before baking. The original recipe called for 10 oz. bittersweet chocolate, chopped. I didn’t have any bittersweet chocolate on hand, so instead I subbed 10 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips (AND you won’t even have to chop the chocolate this way)… which I thought turned out very tasty! I suppose you could change to any type of chocolate, depending on how sweet you want the final product to be. Most of the recipes in this book call for unsalted butter, which I will admit I believe is the best type of fat to bake with. I would use unsalted butter in the appropriate recipe when baking an order for someone or something to take somewhere, but I’ll be honest in saying that I bake (and experiment) way too much to use unsalted butter in everything I bake. So… when I come across a recipe like this that calls for unsalted butter, I usually use an equal amount of margarine and omit the salt. Right or wrong, I haven’t had a complete failure yet!

Here’s my recipe:

10 oz. semisweet chocolate chips
2 1/4 c. flour
1/2 c. cocoa
2 1/2 tsp. baking powder
2/3 c. butter
1 1/2 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. sugar
2 1/2 tsp. instant espresso powder
4 eggs
2 1/2 tsp. vanilla

Melt the chocolate and set aside to cool.

Stir together flour, cocoa, and baking powder. Set aside.

Cream butter, sugars and espresso powder. Add eggs, one at a time and beat well. Beat in vanilla. Add melted chocolate and stir until combined. Gradually stir in flour mixture until just blended. Cover with plastic wrap and chill at least one hour.

Roll dough into 1″ balls and roll in sugar if desired. Baked on greased cookie sheets in preheated 350 degree oven for 10-12 minutes.

Comments
One Response to “Ultimate Dark Chocolate Espresso Cookies”
  1. Sook says:

    I prefer semi-sweet to bittersweet anyway so I think you made a great choice by using semisweet for this recipe! 🙂 It sure looks wonderful.

Leave a Reply

