Meat Loaf Paninis with Caramelized Onions

I recently bought the Cooking Light – The Essential Dinner Tonight Cookbook from Borders. I think it is a GREAT cookbook already, but I’ll post a cookbook review on it after I have made more recipes from it.

Last night for supper I made the Meat Loaf Burgers with Caramelized Onions found on page 67. I decided to call these “paninis” because I grilled the sandwiches in my panini pan.

I pretty much followed the recipe as written except I used 1 lb. ground beef instead of 1 lb. of group sirloin, added some cheese, and used wheat bread in place of the rye.

Onions:

1 tsp. oil
~ 2 onions
1/4 tsp. salt
1 Tbsp. sugar
2 Tbsp. vinegar

Burgers:

1 c. finely chopped green pepper
1 c. finely chopped celery
1 c. crushed crackers
1/3 c. ketchup, divided
1/2 tsp. dried thyme
1/4 tsp. salt
1 lb. ground beef
1 egg, lightly beaten
12 slices wheat bread

1/2 c. mozzarella cheese

Heat oil in skillet. Add onion and salt and saute until golden brown. Stir in vinegar and sugar. Remove from pan.

Saute bell peppter and celery until tender. Combine pepper mixture, crackers, 1/4 c. ketchip, thyme, 1/4 tsp. salt, beef, and egg in large bowl. Divide mixture into 6 equal portion, shpaing each into a 1/2 inch thick patty.

Place patties on grill and cook patties about 5 minutes or until done.

Place 1 patty on each of 6 bread slices. Top each patty with 1/6 of onion mixture a little bit of ketchup and 1/6 of the mozzarella cheese. Grill in panini pan.

Leave a Reply

