Chocolate Heart Cheesecake – Preparing the Valentine’s Meal

My fiance is one lucky guy! He left me for the weekend to go to a farm show with his friends. Unfortunately, having a “real job” means I could not go along. I was pretty bummed, because the show is actually where we first met! Lucky for him, me not going means that when he gets back he will have a spread waiting on him to dig into because I opted to cook a meal for us instead of going out to eat.

We are having T-bone steak, mashed potatoes, pasta salad, cheesy corn, salad, and homemade bread. I’m not sure what his favorite part of the meal will be, but I know what mine will be: dessert! I made a layered cheesecake. Most of it is chocolate cheesecake with a thin layer of white chocolate cheesecake on top. I wanted the top to be white, so I could be sure that my heart would show up. I then took several spoonfuls of raspberry jam and carefully crafted it into a heart shape on top of the cheesecake and put it in the oven to bake.

When I first came up with the idea I was just going to leave it like that. Although I was happy to see that my heart had (mostly) maintained its shape while baking, it seemed to me that is shrunk? So I decided to add an “I” above and a “U” below. I melted some milk chocolate and used a spoon to draw the letters on waxed paper. When they hardened I moved them to the cheesecake. I love it! I can’t wait for him to see….

Comments
2 Responses to “Chocolate Heart Cheesecake – Preparing the Valentine’s Meal”
  1. Amanda says:

    That’s fabulous! I love the cheesecake idea, and what a sweet dinner, lots of work! 🙂 I bet it was great 🙂

  2. Sook says:

    I love anything chocolate.. 🙂 This cake looks wonderful. Happy Valentine’s day!

Leave a Reply

