Peanut Butter Cup Brownies

I managed to get a couple bags of Peanut Butter Cups at Christmas time which I still have not made a very big dent in. Thinking the red and green wrappers were beginning to look a little out-dated, I searched to find a recipe to use some of them up. And boy did I make a good choice! These are rich, fudgy, and chewy!

I began with this recipe from “Recipe Girl” but (as usual) I changed it up a bit.

Generally I prefer to use cocoa instead of unsweetened chocolate so I made that substitution. I did not have peanut butter chips, and I am not a huge fan of peanut butter anyway, so I subbed 1 c. of chocolate chips for the 2 c. of peanut butter chips the original recipe called for. To make up for using less chips, I doubled the amount of peanut butter cups… remember, I was trying to use them up!

Another tip for those of you who may not have chocolate extract on hand, just sub vanilla extract.

My “Peanut Butter Cup Brownies”:

3/4 c. butter, softened
1/2 c. peanut butter
2 c. brown sugar
3/4 c. cocoa
4 eggs
2 tsp. chocolate extract
1 c. flour
1 c. chocolate chips
~24 unwrapped mini-peanut butter cups, cut into quarters

Cream butter, peanut butter and brown sugar. Add cocoa and beat in eggs and extract. Blend in flour. Stir in chocolate chips (or go back to peanut butter if you prefer) and about 1/2 of the peanut butter cup candy pieces. Spread batter into a well greased or greased-foil lined 9×13″ pan. Top evenly with remaining peanut butter cup candy pieces, pressing pieces lightly into batter.

Bake in preheated 325 degree oven for about 25-35 minutes. Let cool completely before cutting.

Leave a Reply

