Chocolate Grasshopper Cheesecake

I wanted to make a “green” dessert for St. Patrick’s Day next week and when I saw “Chocolate Grasshopper Cheesecake” in a recent Betty Crocker newsletter, I could not resist choosing it!

I used a combination of mint oreos and regular chocolate ones. I am not a huge fan of mint, so I didn’t want to over-do it! I also left the butter out of the crust. My personal opinion is that when you are using purchased sandwich cookies with a creme filled center (like Oreos), using butter isn’t really necessary. When you crush the cookies in a food processor the cream from the centers is enough to hold it together. The original recipe also says to bake and cool the crust before filling and I did not do that, as I usually do not bake crumb crusts. Other than that, I just followed the recipe for the filling. Once the cheesecake had cooled I spread whipped topping and pieces of mint Oreos over the top.

I thought the mint flavor in this was pretty subtle but it was still strong enough that I did not care for it, just give me regular cheesecake… or chocolate, or coffee, or strawberries, or caramel… just not mint I guess!  I need to have a mint-lover try this to get a real review. If you like all things mint and you try this out, let me know what you think of it!

Crust:
~ 20 mint oreos, crushed
~20 oreos, crushed

Cheesecake Filling:
4 oz. semisweet baking chocolate
24 oz. cream cheese
1 c. sugar
4 eggs
1/3 c. creme de menthe liqueur

Crush oreos in a food processor. Press crumbs up bottom and sides of 8 or 9″ springform pan. Set aside.

In small bowl melt the chocolate and set aside while preparing the filling.

Beat the cream cheese and sugar until smooth and creamy. Beat in eggs. Stir in the liqueur (could substitute mint extract and green food coloring, if desired). Pour evenly into crumb crust. Drop spoonfuls of the melted chocolate into the filling and allow it to sink in. Run a knife through the filling to swirl the chocolate. Bake in preheated 325 degree oven for 70-80 minutes. When finished, turn the oven off and open the oven door slightly and leave the cheesecake in oven for about an hour. Remove from oven and cool at room temperature for another hour before placing in fridge. Keep refrigerated until serving. Garnish with chocolate, cookies, and whipped topping, if desired.

** The  slow cool down process is a preventative measure to keep the top of the cheesecake from cracking.

Comments
3 Responses to “Chocolate Grasshopper Cheesecake”
  1. Megan says:

    Wish I was near by, I’d help ya out with that tasting. I love mint!!!

  2. Deeba PAB says:

    Looks darned good to me. Love your adventurous spirit!

  3. Amanda says:

    Sorry you weren’t crazy about it, but I think it looks fabulous!

Leave a Reply

