50th Anniversary Decorated Cake for Grandma & Grandpa’s Party

Growing up I always thought it was very neat that I was born on my parent’s wedding anniversary, which also happened to be my grandparent’s wedding anniversary! This year was extra special, marking my grandparent’s 50th anniversary. Although the date was back at the beginning of the month, we celebrated with an anniversary party for their family and friends, with several members of the original wedding party and even a performance by the original wedding soloist. After the meal our family was all introduced and my mom and her brothers all spoke. Following the “program” the cake I made for their party was served. As I look forward to my own wedding later this year, I realize how wonderful it is that my parents and both sets of grandparents (my dad’s parents are on their 58th year) have set such great examples of what a marriage should be like!

And now, here is the cake:

Comments
4 Responses to “50th Anniversary Decorated Cake for Grandma & Grandpa’s Party”
  1. Jane Bonacci says:

    Hi Krista,

    I was also born on my parents anniversary and was always happy to share the day. You are the first person I’ve ever heard of with the same situation! How wonderful that you have such a legacy of happy marriages in your family to emulate. Best of wishes on your own marriage!

    • meettheswans says:

      Jane – Thank you for the note. I have never met anyone else with that situation either! When I was younger I was set on getting married that day too… but now I am happy to have an August wedding to spread out our occasions to celebrate!

  2. Sydney says:

    Beautiful cake! Can’t wait to be dancing at your 50th anniversary party- and this summer, of course!

  3. Amanda says:

    Oh wow that is beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

