Mushroom Pork Chops and My Poor Photography Skills

A few months ago, in my Hearty Lasagna Soup post, I first mentioned that I was going to cut back on the posts about sweets and start blogging about cooking more often. Well, in case you have not noticed, that has not really happened. I do cook every night, and since January I have managed to rarely repeat a meal…. but one of three things always seems to happen the stops me from posting:

A: We are hungry. And we eat. And there is nothing left to take a picture of.
B: By the time we eat, I forget what I actually did to make what we are eating. And I cannot blog about it.
or
C: (and this one happens the most often) The picture I take of what I make looks absolutely awful.

Now I know I am not a great photographer, and I know my dessert food photography is not always the best, and I know I really, really need a better camera if I am going to do this right, but I just have not brought myself to buy a new camera when the one I have works “just fine”. Even though my photography of sweets is not great, there is just something that tells me that a bad picture of a meal that is worse than a bad picture of a dessert.

I really want to start posting main dish food on here, so I am just going to do my best to come up with a picture that will (at least somewhat) do whatever I make justice.

Enough about photography and on to the food. I found this recipe for “Mushroom Pork Chops” on allrecipes.com and decided to give it a try for supper one night. With just a four ingredients (plus a few spices) these make for simple meal. I chose to bake instead of cooking on the stove top and that worked just fine.

I was also anxious to show off my new Paula Deen baking pan that the “Easter Bunny” brought me! I love the red porcelain products – and this one matches my pot set!

4 pork chops
salt and pepper to taste
1 pinch garlic salt, or to taste
1 onion, chopped
1/2 lb. fresh mushrooms, sliced
10 oz can condensed cream of mushroom soup

The original directions: Season chops with salt, pepper and garlic salt to taste. Brown the chops over medium-high heat in a large skillet. Add the onion and mushrooms and saute for one minute. Add soup and cover skillet. Reduce temperature to medium-low and simmer 20-30 minutes, or until chops are cooked through.

My directions: Season chops with salt, pepper and garlic salt to taste. Please in square baking dish. Pour soup over the chops and then layer the onions and mushrooms on top of the chops and soup. Bake in preheated 400 degree oven for out 45-60 minutes or until pork is thoroughly cooked.

Comments
2 Responses to “Mushroom Pork Chops and My Poor Photography Skills”
  1. Krista Joy says:

    Thanks for the tip… I actually do always use the macro setting. Ignoring the fact that I could use a better camera, it would also help if I took pictures during the day to use natural light. The problem is that when I cook in the evening there’s not enough sun to make that work!

  2. Kate says:

    I think I’m printing this one for the file! Looks good!

    (Also, try the “macro” setting on your camera, looks like a little tulip flower; it’s good for detail and close-ups.)

Leave a Reply

