Crockette Mac & Cheese / 1st "Bloggiversary" Giveaway

I started my blog in April 2009 and have successfully completed my first year as a “blogger” (see my first true “blog post”). I have had a lot of fun so far and hope to continue and expand my blog in the future. You have probably learned by now that I look for “excuses to bake”. Having a baking blog that I aim to update at least weekly is a perfect “excuse”. Not only have I come a long way in the “blogging world” since last April, I would also say that I have come a long way in the “baking world”, starting with my first wedding cake in June 2009, and ending up making three others last summer. One goal I have for this year is to gain expose and increase my number of readers… and I need your help to do that! I ask that you pass along the link to my blog to anyone you know who would enjoy reading. The other major goal is to increase the number of people I have that make comments on my posts and I need your help for that one too.

I owe a big “thank-you” to you – my readers – for your support and comments. As a way to say “thank you”, and also as an attempt to meet the goals I noted above, I am sponsoring a giveaway along with CSN Stores. Please see this post for the original giveaway announcement and see the end of this post for instructions on how to enter the giveaway.

The giveaway item is a mini-crock pot, also know as a “Crockette”. Personally, I like the name crockette, because I like the way it sounds. It sort of reminds me of “rockette”. While growing up, I would watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade each year and think about how much I wanted to be a Radio City Rockette. Those of you who know me are probably laughing right now, because you know that my dance ability level is less than par, and I am also pretty uncoordinated at times. Regardless I have decided it’s a crockette. I received one for CSN to review and I am also giving one away!

It is a: Proctor-Silex 1.5 Qt Round Crock-Pot.

My crockette came last week and I have already found a number of uses for it. One great thing about this crockette is that it has three heat settings: low, warm and hot (plus an “off setting). Although many larger crock-pots have heat settings, smaller ones do not always. Another thing smaller ones commonly do not have: a removable inside. I have wanted a crockette for a long, but I never got one because I did not want one that did not have a removable inside. My mom has one that is not removable and it is a pain to clean. The thing that excites me the most about this crockette is the removable inside!! Even if you are not the lucky winner of this crock-pot, I would recommend it as a worthwhile purchase.

The first thing I made with was Crocketee Mac & Cheese. I found the recipe at this website with a whole selected of crockette recipes.

2 c. cooked macaroni
1 Tbsp. butter, melted
1 c. evaporated milk
1/2 tsp. salt
1 c. shredded sharp process cheese
1 Tbsp. minced onion

Toss macaroni with butter. Add remaining ingredients. Pour into lightly greased crockette. Cover and cook for 2 1/2 to 4 hours, stirring part way through cooking time.

When making this recipe, you will definitely be happy you can pull out the removable inside and wash. Trust me.

NOW WHAT YOU REALLY WANT – INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO ENTER THE GIVEAWAY!

You can enter up to three different ways and you may enter one time each way. You must leave a comment on this post for each entry to be sure that all of your entries are counted separately. In all comments please include an e-mail so that I can contact you if you are the winner.

1. Leave a comment on this post describing the first thing you would make in the crockette.
2. Mention this giveaway on your blog and include a link back to this post (be sure to leave an additional comment on this post with a link to your blog post linked to the giveaway)
3. Tweet about my giveaway on Twitter or re-tweet one of my twitter announcements (KitchenKrista) on this giveaway (be sure to leave an additional comment on this post with your twitter name)

The winning comment number will be selected using an online research randomizer (randomizer.org). If you enter all three ways, you must be sure to leave three separate comments so that each will be entered separately. All comments left on this post before Friday April 30 at 11:59pm CST will be included in the giveaway. This contest is open to anyone in the United States or Canada. The winner will be announced on Saturday May 1st and will also be personally contacted by me via e-mail. The crockette will be shipped to the winner directly from CSN.

Comments
69 Responses to “Crockette Mac & Cheese / 1st "Bloggiversary" Giveaway”
  1. Nupur says:

    The first thing I would make is vegetarian chili 🙂

    nupur.kittur AT gmail DOT com

  2. M says:

    To be honest? My own portion of beef stroganoff. All mine!

    mDOTkurokoATgmailDOTcom

  3. daunfamily says:

    For sure mac and cheese, I love it and so do my three boys!
    daunfamily@yahoo.com

  4. I think I would try the mac ‘n cheese since my kids go nuts for the stuff, but I would also like to melt chocolate in it and dip fruit. Yum!

  5. Anonymous says:

    ashley4him@bellsouth.net
    i would make some garden chowder!

  6. Anonymous says:

    groovers4him@bellsouth.net
    definately the mac and cheese!

  7. Carapace says:

    I’d make queso, and have it at the center of a board game party! Melty cheese and hot peppers, superyum!

    carapacenator(at)gmail.com

  8. Kim says:

    chicken wing dip would be awesome in the crockette!!! xo

    kimberly.long at gmail dot com

  9. Esme says:

    I would make some kind of fruit dessert dish.

    thanks

    Chocolate and croissants at yahoo . com

  10. Lynsy says:

    I would make artichoke dip. The mini crockpot on low keeps it the perfect temperature!

    lynsym gmail

  11. Def good ol’ mac n’ cheese!

    Amy
    artsyrockerchick at aim dot com

  12. Julia says:

    Definitely chilli. I love a good slow cooked chilli, especially this time of year, when it can go from warm to cold cold at night.

    sugareaterATgmailDOTcom

  13. kittycat says:

    i’d probably make the mac n cheese also! sounds yummy!

  14. Maricela says:

    I would make a crockpot dessert. I’ve heard they are good, but all ive made before is dinner stuff!

    poetees at gmail dot com

  15. I would love this little darling item! I would make spinach and artichoke dip for game night!
    lbrezoff@gmail.com

  16. ohhhfire says:

    i would love to make a stew, i havent had one in quite awhile, something with lots of meat and potatoes

    ohhhfire@hotmail.com

  17. Jolee says:

    I’d try the mac n’ cheese and then a chocolate fondue recipe I have. joleehamlin@comcast.net

  18. Rachel C says:

    That mac and cheese sounds great! A little pot like this would be great for lots of things – try this one: crushed pineapple covered with dry cake mix. YUM!
    rach62803@yahoo.com

  19. Marci J says:

    I would love to make my Mexican cheese dip
    thank you for the chance to win!
    june_spirit2628 at hotmail dot com

  20. ellen says:

    I would make queso! I’m from Texas and currently living in California… I’m nostalgic for some good, homemade, Tex-Mex queso. 🙂

    ellencrafts@gmail.com

  21. Celestia says:

    I would make some kind of cheese dip or try a dessert recipe.

    celestia dot price at gmail dot com

  22. Kendra says:

    I definitely would try your mac & cheese recipe. It sounds so easy and delish!

    mscalitx(at)yahoo(dot)com

  23. Anonymous says:

    The first thing I would make is soup! Any kind! Even though it’s spring & soup is hot…
    Ashley
    cran.berries (at) yahoo.com

  24. Christina says:

    I think my bf would make me make the mac and cheese. His favorite!

  25. I now subscribe by rss google reader.

  26. SogniSorrisi says:

    That mac and cheese looks like it would be fun to try!

    sogni-e-sorrisi[at]hotmail[dot]com

  27. Ashley says:

    I have so man different dips I would love to try in this! I love bringing warm dips to parties, but never have a convenient way to keep them warm.

    demureprincess7(at)gmail.com

  28. katidyd says:

    I would probably try the mac and cheese, too! Though that size would be perfect to make some pear (or other fruit) crisp!
    katidyd at hotmail dot com

  29. Kristen says:

    I would make a beef stew.

    couponboss at gmail dot com

  30. Anonymous says:

    It’s not too original, but that mac ‘n’ cheese recipe you posted has my mouth watering…would have to make that first!

    Thanks for the chance to win!

    –Liza

    ejm6x (at) yahoo (dot) com

  31. Shannon says:

    Mmm I would try the Crockette Perfect Pork Chops first. My family loves pork chops! I would also use it to do dips or fondue.

    waterchic83@yahoo.com

  32. Jen says:

    I would make spinach artichoke dip – in a flash! And I’m not surprised to see that I’m not the first person who chose this!

  33. Brooke says:

    Queso. The large crocks make way too much. Definitely queso.
    shutterboo at gmail dot com

  34. Anonymous says:

    definitely chocolate fondue!

    angela_jeon at yahoo dot com

  35. angela says:

    spinach and artichoke dip! yummm…..

  36. Anonymous says:

    tweet!
    http://twitter.com/shee518/status/13146596878
    angela_jeon at yahoo dot com

  37. I will be trying your mac n cheese recipe! 🙂 Thanks for sharing it!

    kelseylaster@gmail.com

  38. I would make queso dip
    jonilynntaylor at gmail dot com

  39. I would make fondue with my crockette.

  40. Kuparstwn says:

    I would make Buffalo Chicken Dip! My in-laws demand I bring it to every family function. Mother’s Day is coming up, so I’ll be busy again! Thanks for the chance!
    kuparstwn at gmail dot com

  41. Kate Legge says:

    I would make Rotel/Velveeta cheese dip! Love the new header too!

  42. Liz Bowman says:

    I would make this buffalo chicken dip! It has chicken, cream cheese, cheddar cheese, ranch dressing and hot sauce!! soooooo Good!

    Happy anniversary and I enjoy reading your blog!

    ebowman9@gmail.com

  43. Julie says:

    I would make the Chicken Fajitas 🙂
    thanks for the giveaway

    aunteegem@yahoo.com

  44. 409cope says:

    I would make my famous,well not really famous,spagetti sauce in here.cardshark42(at)hotmail(dot)com

  45. I would make Smothered Steak 🙂 HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY and *Thanks* for the giveaway!
    theluckyladybug[at]gmail[dot]com

  46. Scotts in LA says:

    I do like that Mac N Cheese idea, that would be the first thing I would make it, if I won! Thanks!

  47. In the first time I will give it to my daugther who need it more than me. She will probably do some macaroni like your mac and cheese.
    I am a follower.
    thank you.

  48. becca says:

    i would love to have a little crockette to make spinach dip with!

  49. I’ve got to try that Mac n Cheese Recipe!
    ~Rebekah

  50. k says:

    I tweeted!

    http://twitter.com/naddie_t/status/13068510136

    @naddie_t

    nadia[dot]torrieri[at]gmail[dot]com

  51. k says:

    I would be making some slow-cook chili in my new crock pot! Slow cooking is something I’ve wanted to do for so long!

    nadia[dot]torrieri[at]gmail[dot]com

  52. carmen says:

    I would make my favorite sweet potato-and-black bean chili in it! (I posted the recipe here: http://lifeblessons.blogspot.com/2009/11/sweet-potato-and-black-bean-chili.html)

    lifeblessons at gmail dot com

  53. edmontonjb says:

    I would try your Mac n’ Cheese recipe as well. It looks so easy and mac n’ cheese is my son’s favorite.

    dftrew(at)gmail(dot)Com

  54. Deeba PAB says:

    I’d go the mac and cheese way! Sounds absolutely delicious!

  55. I’d probably make my Chicken Cacciatore. It’s a favourite and I certainly don’t need any recipe to make it. With just hubby and I at home now, the crockette would be an ideal size, and I can give my larger one to my younger daughter. Funny, I asked her just yesterday if she had a slow cooker and she said she doesn’t.

  56. Kimberley B says:

    I think I would try the smothered steak first…sounds so delic! With only two empty nesters at home now this would be fantastic to use and I can keep the larger crock for when the family comes!

  57. Colleen says:

    That looks like a great mac and cheese recipe. I never thought of using a croc for mac and cheese…this would be a great trailer recipe for the summer. It would be the first recipe in my new crockette for sure!

  58. Celeste says:

    I’d try the mac & cheese!! I’ve actually never made mac & cheese in a crock pot

    contact me at:
    celeste@mail4me.com

  59. Felicia says:

    I would definitely try the mac & cheese–I am such a mac and chs fanatic! LOL

    Happy Bloggiversary!!

    tigpooh1516″at”yahoo”dot”com

  60. Sook says:

    Happy bloggiversary! That is so exciting!

  61. I also posted a link to your Facebook post from my Facebook page. I’m not sure how to link the two together.
    Jennifer Perrine
    jperrine@consolidated.net

  62. Anonymous says:

    I, too, would try the mac and cheese recipe! Looks good…and simple!

    jperrine@consolidated.net

  63. Ashley says:

    I think I would make your mac and cheese recipe…sounds yummy!

    hewella1@gmail.com

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] The first giveaway is sponsored by CSN Stores. Remember them? In case you don’t remember, CSN has over 200 stores packed into one site, that’s one site with one checkout, where you can purchase anything from home decor products, like these nesting tables, products for children like strollers, to cookware like a crockette. Click here to see the crockette giveaway I hosted earlier this year, which CSN Stores also sponsored… […]



Leave a Reply

