Toasted Coconut and Orange Icebox Cookies

For the first time I am participating in the monthly “cookie carnival” hosted by Tami at Tami’s Kitchen Table Talk. Each month she sends the selected “cookie of the month” recipe to all participants who all make the recipes and then blog about it at some point during the month. Once the month is over, she write a post on her blog with links to each participant’s blog post.

The April cookie was Toasted Coconut and Orange Icebox Cookies from the Food Network. I generally do not like coconut, so I did not see myself liking these. Not to mention that fact that I was almost scared away by the orange zest because I have never “zested” before… and I do not even own a zester. However, I love to try new cookie recipes, and this one was quite different from any other cookie recipe I have tried so I wanted to give it a shot!

The orange flavor is strong, but it goes well with the chocolate. I could not taste the coconut, but could tell it is in the cookie by looking at it and by the cookie texture. I think this is a great “spring” cookie and it was an excellent choice for the “April Cookie Carnival”!

Instead of dipping half of the cookie in chocolate, I spread melted chocolate on top of the cookies. I left a few without chocolate, just to taste the difference. Personally, I think the chocolate makes this cookie, but the non-chocolate version would be great for someone who is not a chocolate eater.

I found that a vegetable peeler can be a substitute for a zester, however (at least how I did it) it will peel larger shavings that what you probably want to throw into the cookie dough. I shaved the orange with a vegetable peeler and then chopped the shavings up as much as I could.

The recipe says to bake for 15-18 minutes, which is longer than most cookie-baking-times. But yes, these cookies really did take that long to bake… and I’m generally the person who will shorten the baking time if possible. I always argue that a doughy cookie is better than a burnt cookie… but that discussion could be an entire blog post itself…..

The recipe from Food Network:

2 c. flour
2 Tbsp. orange zest
1/2 tsp salt
1 c. unsalted butter, room temp.
1/2 c. sugar, plus extra for rolling
1/4 c. brown sugar
1 egg, room temp.
1 tsp. vanilla
1 c. toasted coconut
6 oz. semisweet chocolate

Stir flour, zest, and salt together in a bowl. In large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugars. Beat in egg and vanilla. Blend in flour mixture. Gently stir in coconut.

Lay out two large pieces of plastic wrap in a clean surface. Place half of the dough in the center of each and shape dough into logs measuring about 1 1/2″ in diameter and 10″ long. Roll logs in plastic and secure tightly. Refrigerate for at least one hour (can keep for several weeks).

Remove from fridge and cut into 1/2″ slices and roll in sugar to coat. Place slice on cookie sheet and bake 15-18 minutes in preheated 350 degree oven.

Don’t forget to enter for your chance to win in my giveaway!!

Comments
One Response to “Toasted Coconut and Orange Icebox Cookies”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Toasted Coconut and Orange Cookies […]



Leave a Reply

