Rosemary and Lemon Cupcakes & Giveaway Winner

A while back I bought some dried rosemary because it was an ingredient in a meat dish I wanted to try. Rosemary is often included in spice blends. For example, it is in the Italian Seasoning and Country Herb blends I have in my cabinet right now.

I used the rosemary I bought for the one meal, and had not touched it since. I wanted to use it again, so I began looking for other recipes I could use in it and came across this Better Homes and Gardens recipe for Fresh Rosemary and Lemon Cupcakes. I decided to try it out, but I used my dried rosemary instead of the fresh rosemary called for in the recipe. As with most recipes, I am sure using fresh rosemary probably would be a better choice. I also left out the lemon peel, but I would recommend including that if you want to amplify the lemon flavor.

I did not care for these cupcakes, but I am sure some people would. They were just a little out of my “food comfort zone”!

 

The recipe:

1/2 c. butter, room temperature
1 c. sugar
2 eggs, room temperature
1 1/2 tsp. lemon extract
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 3/4 c. cake flour
2 tsp. finely chopped fresh rosemary (I used ~ 1 tsp. dried)
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
2/3 c. milk
2 tsp. finely shredded lemon peel (I left out)
3 Tbsp. lemon juice

Beat butter, sugar, and extracts until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time and beat well after each addition. In a separate bowl stir together flour, rosemary, baking powder and salt. Add dry mixture alternately with milk and beat on low after each addition. Stir in peel (if using) and juice.

Spoon batter into lined cupcake tins until 3/4 full. Bake 20-25 minutes. Cool in muffin cups on rack for 5 minutes. Remove from pan.

Make a lemon glaze using 1 cup powdered sugar and enough lemon juice (~5 tsp) to reach spreading consistency. If desired, stir in 1/2 tsp. finely shredded lemon peel.

Drizzle over cupcakes while slightly warm.

Last week I posted information on how to enter my giveaway which can be found here. The contest ended at 11:59pm on Friday, April 30. Randomizer.org picked my winner, commenter #38 which was Liza! Congratulations Liza!! I will be contacting you by e-mail very soon.

Thanks to all of you who entered. I was so excited by the number of people who commented on that post. I hope to keep up the comments going forward!!

Comments
4 Responses to “Rosemary and Lemon Cupcakes & Giveaway Winner”
  1. Deeba PAB says:

    I like the flavour combination Krista, and citrus is right up my street NICE!!

  2. congratulation Liza. And you to Kitchen… Hope you will make an other giveaway soon…

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] yumminess from the interwebs:Very Tangerine Poppy Seed Cake – from Modern Comfort FoodRosemary and Lemon Cupcakes – from The SwansAlmond-Orange Sponge with Chocolate Ganache Icing – from Passionate […]

  2. […] was deciding between the Lemon Rosemary Cupcakes and the Coconut Cherry […]



Leave a Reply

