Quadruple Chocolate Cookies

When I first came across the recipe for Triple Chocolate Cookies on the Food Network site, I knew I had to try them out because the recipe was unique, containing oil in addition to butter, and wheat flour in addition to all-purpose flour. Generally cookies contain a solid fat, like butter or shortening, while bars contain a liquid fat, like oil or melted butter. I do not have a lot of experience baking cookies with oil in addition to butter, so I did not want to mess with this recipe too much. But, I did not have pecans so I subbed white chocolate, and named my version of these “Quadruple” Chocolate Cookies. The only other changes I made were to omit the optional salt and to use brown sugar in place of the dark brown sugar. I made this change only because I did not have dark brown sugar on hand.

If you like chocolate, I’d try this one out… but the name alone could probably tell you that!

1/4 c. butter
1/2 c. brown sugar
1/4 c. sugar
1/4 c. oil
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla
1/4 c. cocoa powder
1/2 c. flour
1/2 c. whole-wheat flour
1/3 c. dark chocolate, coarsely chopped
1/3 c. milk chocolate, coarsely chopped
1/3 c. white chocolate, coarsely chopped

Cream the butter and sugar. Beat in oil and egg until creamy. Stir in vanilla. In bowl,  mix the cocoa with the flours. Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture and blend until well combined. Stir in chocolates. Drop by spoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes in a preheated 350 degree oven.

Leave a Reply

