Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip and Walnut Cookies

I apologize for not keeping up very well with posts lately. I was away for three days in each of the past two weeks and both weekends. I did find a bit of time to bake in the mix of things…

As I have mentioned many times before I love trying out new cookies recipes. I have posted a number of oatmeal cookie recipes/cookies with oatmeal in them:

Loaded Oatmeal Cookies, Banana Oatmeal Cookies, Chocolate Oat Cookies, Mocha Almond No Bakes, POM No Bakes

Despite all of those, this Smitten Kitchen recipe for Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip and Pecan Cookies really caught my eye because of the “grown-up” orange zest, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, mixed with “young at heart” chocolate chips instead of raisins. I mean, who really wants a cookie with raisins instead of chocolate chips anyway? Well, at least I know I don’t.

Now, I will admit that I tried these several weeks ago without the orange zest because I did not want to take time to figure out how to zest an orange. I never posted, because what was the point in posting a recipe I tried because it was unique (due to the orange zest) if I made it and did not even include the unique ingredient? When I made the Toasted Coconut and Orange Icebox Cookies I had to conquer my fear of orange zest, so I thought this was a good opportunity to re-make this recipe using orange zest. And let me say I am happy I did!

The only changes I made: I used 1/2 cup margarine instead of unsalted butter and I eliminated the salt. I used all of my pecans the first time I made these and did not get those on my grocery list, so I subbed walnuts instead. As with most cookie recipes, I say use whichever you prefer, or a combination of the two. I actually used a combination of semi-sweet chocolate and milk chocolate as well. Again, your preference.

My recipe:

1/2 c. margarine, room temp
3/4 c. sugar
1 c. brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1 1/2 c. flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
1/8 tsp. ground cloves
1 c. oatmeal
2 c. chopped walnuts or pecans
12 oz. chocolate chips

Cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Sift together flour, soda, and spices. Slowly blend in flour mixture. Stir in oats, nuts and chocolate chips.

Drop dough by spoonfuls onto cookie sheet and bake 10-12 minutes in preheated 350 degree oven.

Comments
3 Responses to “Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip and Walnut Cookies”
  1. Krista Joy says:

    I don’t have a zester yet…. but it is a registry item! Thanks for your comments!

  2. Amanda says:

    They look wonderful Krista! I’m with you, chocolate chips over raisins any day 🙂

  3. Sydney says:

    Totally agree with you on the raisin thoughts! Do you have a real zester yet? If not, is it at least on a registry?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

