Left-Over Make-Over: Noodle and Ham Casserole

I have a habit of re-inventing leftovers. On the make-over left-over nights I try to be vague when Brett asks me what is in the dish I mixed up. Sometimes these mixtures go over better than others, but for the most past I have been pretty successful. Here is my Noodle and Ham Casserole which is based on (if you have not already guessed) LEFTOVERS!

A woman at work sold Ham Loaves as part of a fundraiser her Church does each year. Her and several other women in the Church take orders and then spend a few days preparing the loaves. When she asked me to buy some, I was a little leery… I do not think I have ever even heard of a ham loaf. I said I would buy two. I made the two ham loaves for supper and found out that Brett was excited, I believe he said something like “We are having ham loaves!?! I love ham loaves!!”

I made Crockette Macaroni and Cheese and peas to have with the ham loaves. After the meal we ended up with half of a ham loaf and quite a bit of macaroni and cheese and peas left over. No one likes to eat leftovers, who wants to have the same meal twice in a row?

The following night I prepared a completely different meal, but after the “skipped night” I decided to make something with all the leftovers. I chopped up the left over ham loaf and also some other lunch meat ham I had on hand. See the leftover macaroni and cheese and the chopped ham in pictures. I did not think the left over macaroni would stretch far enough for the size of casserole dish I chose, so I cooked more noodles. After the “new” noodles cooked I drained off the water and stirred in a can of condensed Cream of Celery Soup. See the leftover peas and the new noodles with the soup in the next row of pictures.

Finally I stirred together leftover macaroni and cheese, chopped ham, peas, and the new noodles in a casserole dish. I baked in a preheated 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes just to heat. We enjoyed the left-over make-over “Noodle and Ham Casserole”. It was delicious… you would never know it was primarily leftovers!

Comments
2 Responses to “Left-Over Make-Over: Noodle and Ham Casserole”
  1. Krista Joy says:

    Thanks Megan! I’ll try to keep the ideas coming!

  2. Megan says:

    Looks delicious. I cant wait to see what you come up with next. Great idea to make over leftovers!

Leave a Reply

