Rich Red Regale – Ice Cream Cupcake Contest

It’s that time of year again, and here in the Midwest you can really feel the heat these past few days with a couple 90+ degree days! I absolutely love hot weather, so this is perfect for me. And, there is nothing better on a hot day than ice cream!!

Last year I entered the Ice Cream Cupcake Contest sponsored by the Cupcake Project and Scoopalicious. I actually made a few different versions and chose one of those to enter. Check out my trials from last year:

Frozen White Chocolate Strawberry Cupcakes
Frozen Triple Chocolate Espresso Cupcakes
Frozen Chocolate Banana Cupcakes

and my entry:

Frozen Raspberry Truffle Cupcakes

This year I decided to enter again. The contest was officially announced on the Cupcake Project site and the Scoopalicious site earlier this month. I came up with a simple but delicious cupcake that would be hard to resist… but not only this, it also has a pretty intriguing name: Rich Red Regale.

The work “regale” can mean a number of different things, but in this case it is a “choice food, a delicacy, dessert”. Very fitting for this treat.
 
I used Red Velvet Cupcakes. Click here to see instructions and a recipe for those.

I sliced a thin layer off of the top of the cupcakes. In the meantime I let Cake Batter ice cream thaw slightly and spread it into a sheet pan into a layer about 3/4″ thick. I placed the pan in the freezer until it hardened. I used a round cookie cutter than same size as the cupcake and cut circles out of the ice cream layer.

I placed the ice cream circles onto the bottom cupcake base, replace the top and kept in the freezer. I prepared the same Cream Cheese Frosting that I used on the Red Velvet Cupcakes and iced the cupcakes. This is an excellent frosting to use on frozen cupcakes because it does not freeze to the point that it is too hard to eat.

And the finished “Rich Red Regale” again:

Last year the voting was open to the public, but this year there is a different set-up. Voting will not be open to the public until the three finalists are selected. Wish me luck!

Comments
5 Responses to “Rich Red Regale – Ice Cream Cupcake Contest”
  1. Krista Joy says:

    Thanks! I’m looking forward to seeing all of the other entries in the contest… and of course seeing how the new voting process works!

  2. Bethany says:

    What a great idea! GORGEOUS and so yummy looking — when can I come over to have some? 😉

    Thanks for entering! It’s going to be a tough race this year!

    Bethany@Scoopalicious

  3. Stef says:

    Oooh! Another great entry! If you sold these at a store, I bet they would instantly sell out. Red velvet and cake batter are such popular flavors, but I’ve never seen them together!

  4. Sue Sparks says:

    It looks perfect! Sounds wonderful, especially with the cake batter ice cream:)

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] For the past two years I have participated in the Ice Cream Cupcake Contest. Remember my Rich Red Regale for 2010? Or what about my Frozen Raspberry Truffle Cupcakes from […]



Leave a Reply

