Outrageous Chocolate Cookies

A bit late posting… for the MAY Cookie Carnival! Is it really the first of June? Where does the time go!?

This month the Cookie Carnival actually suggested two recipes, and I could not help but to try out both! I could not even manage to get one of the post in the right month!

The recipe is originally found on the Martha Stewart website. These cookies are soft and chewy and chocolaty!

I made a small change, did not use unsalted butter and eliminated the salt.

My version of the recipe:

8 oz. semisweet chocolate, chopped
4 Tbsp butter
2/3 c. flour
1/2 tsp. baking powder
2 eggs
3/4 c. packed brown sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
12 oz. semisweet chocolate chunks

Heat chopped chocolate and butter until almost melted. In another bowl, whisk flour and baking powder.

In mixing bowl beat eggs, brown sugar, and vanilla until light and fluffy. Slowly beat in melted chocolate mixture. Stir in flour mixture until just combined and then add chocolate chunks.

Drop by spoonfuls onto greased baking sheets. Bake in preheated 350 degree oven about 12-15 minutes. Cookies will be shiny and crackled, yet soft in the center.

Comments
4 Responses to “Outrageous Chocolate Cookies”
  1. Those cookies look insanely good! So chocolatey and thick and amazing! I need a glass of milk!

  2. Krista Joy says:

    Thanks for your comment. As an undergraduate I took MANY chemistry courses and a course specifically in food chemistry, so I understand what you mean by the chemical reaction. I think salt is an often underestimated ingredient and especially important in a cake recipe. These cookies still puff without the salt. I chose to leave it out because I used margarine that was salted. I truly believe that using unsalted butter is the best option, but at ~4 times the cost it is not the most economical for someone who bakes for fun as much as me! When I bake for orders I use higher quality ingredients than when I bake for fun!! If someone ordered these cookies, I would most definitely use unsalted butter and salt! Thanks again – I love to hear from readers!

  3. Seem good! but you have to put some salt… it is for the chimical reaction between all the ingredients. like the baking powder. You can cut it by half but you have to put some. I never the amount suggested in a recipe.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

