Peanut Butter Banana Cake with Chocolate Frosting

I bought buttermilk to make my Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting and “Rich Red Regale”. I realized that it was going to expire pretty quickly… not wanting it to go to waste, I did my best to come up with some ways to use it. I found this recipe for Peanut Butter Banana Cake with Chocolate Frosting and it was the perfect choice since I am always looking for a good banana recipe and almost always have plenty of bananas on hand.

I thought the peanut butter flavor overwhelmed the banana in this cake, but I also do not care much for peanut butter, so I may have noticed that more than someone who likes peanut butter would. The cake was moist and rich with the chocolate frosting. A fitting breakfast for someone who would normally reach for a doughnut in the morning, and a good dessert for someone who craves sweets after meals. If you read the original post, you will see the suggestion to either mix nuts into the batter, on top of the chocolate or both. I just sprinkled walnuts on top of the chocolate.

The Recipe:

1 c. butter
1 c. sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. buttermilk
3 medium bananas, mashed
1/3 c. peanut butter
2 c. flour
1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. salt
1 c. walnuts (in batter and/or on top of frosting)

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, vanilla, and peanut butter. In separate bowl combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Add flour mixture and buttermilk alternately to the batter. Stir in bananas. Pour into greased 9×13 pan and bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 30-35 minutes. Cool completely before frosting.

Chocolate Frosting

1 c. sugar
6 Tbsp. butter
6 Tbsp. milk
1/2 c. chocolate chips (milk chocolate or semi-sweet to your preference)

Melt sugar, butter and milk in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Boil for 60 seconds and remove from heat. Stir in chocolate chips and continue stirring until the chocolate has melted. Use frosting immediately, it will harden quickly. Make about 2 cups, will frost a 9×13 pan of cake or bars.

Comments
2 Responses to “Peanut Butter Banana Cake with Chocolate Frosting”
  1. Krista Joy says:

    Yes, I do know you can do that. Although I know that is a “credited” substitution I try my best not to sub ingredients unless I’m in a crunch. I agree though, in a cake it will work just fine!

  2. Sydney says:

    You know the cheap-o buttermilk cheat, right? Pour a tablespoon of white vinegar into a liquid measuring cup and pour the rest of a cup of milk and let it swirl for a few minutes- perfect time to blend dry ingredients. There might be a slight difference but I’ve used it for red velvet 🙂

Leave a Reply

