German Brownie Torte

To all of my readers, I apologize for the lack of posts lately. I was in North Dakota for a work conference last week. North Dakota did not seem to be the biggest draw to some of the others in my organization, but I was pumped about going there! When I was young I set a goal that I wanted to go to all 50 states and 10 countries. I have 9 countries and over half of the states under my belt, but was still missing “the Dakotas” prior to the trip. I made Brett drive us out of the way, just so I could go to South Dakota while I was “up that way”. Brett has not been to as many states as me and he suggested that I start my list over and we go to all 50 states together. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this idea. I mean, I did have Hawaii out of the way, but I think he just offered to take me back there so we can count it together?! Well, that’s what I heard…

We made it back in time for a special weekend, Father’s Day! One of my mom’s (yes, I meant to say mom, not dad) favorite desserts is German Chocolate Cake. I actually made this German Brownie Torte for dessert at our Mother’s Day family gathering last month. At that time my computer with a card reader was not working right so I could not upload the pictures. I thought I would wait to post my Mother’s Day dessert on… Father’s Day!? Yes, that is what I am doing! I actually made a special dessert for our Father’s Day family gathering to be held later today which I will post in the upcoming week. I would post it not, but I will not have good pictures of the inside, of the layers, until we dig into it later.

The German Brownie Torte I made is a variation from the Woman’s Day recipe although I made a homemade brownie recipe, instead of using a mix. I also spread chocolate frosting on top of each layer before spreading the whipped cream.

1 1/2 Cups Sweetened Flaked Coconut
1 1/2 Cups Pecans, chopped
1/2 Cup Brown Sugar
4 Tablespoons Butter, melted
2 Cups Heavy Whipped Cream
1/3 Cup Powdered Sugar
1 Container of Chocolate Frosting
– OR –
1-2 Cups of Homemade Chocolate Frosting
1 Box (21 oz) Family-Style Chewy Fudge Brownies Mix
– OR –
Prepare a Homemade Brownie Recipe for a 10×15 pan

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 10x15x1″ baking sheet with foil and coat with nonstick spray. Mix coconut, pecans, brown sugar and butter in a bowl and set aside. Prepare brownies (from mix following package instructions or from scratch following recipe) and pour batter into prepared pan. Spread evenly and then top with coconut mixture. Bake about 25 minutes and then cool in pan. Once cool, lift foil by ends onto a cutting board. Cut brownie crosswise into thirds. Beat cream and powdered sugar with mixer until stiff peaks form.

Place one brownie layer, nut side up, on a serving platter. Spread 1/2 to 1 cup of chocolate frosting on top of the layer and the spread with 1 cup of whipped cream. Repeat with remaining layers using the frosting and cream, ending with cake. Refrigerate at least 2 hours.

To serve, cut with serrated knife in 1″ slices.

**If you are looking for a quick easy recipe, use a box brownie mix, purchase chocolate frosting and whipped topping, instead of beating cream and powdered sugar.

Comments
3 Responses to “German Brownie Torte”
  1. Krista Joy says:

    Thanks Karly… two of my favorite hobbies = baking and traveling!!

  2. Karly says:

    Oh, I would looooove to visit all 50 states! I think that’s awesome that you and your husband are doing that. Especially, the Hawaii part. 😉

    This dessert looks yummy! I’m a fan of all things brownie.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] has an amazing selection of desserts and this German Brownie Torte, the Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars, and these Rain Doughnuts  were calling my name. Since I […]



Leave a Reply

