Rain Donuts (Bolinho De Chuva)

I came across the recipe for “Rain Donuts” and thought these were more than fitting right now, but not because I want rain. Oh gosh no, I do not want rain!! I think it rains every day here! On second thought, I do not think it rains every day… it DOES rain every day. It has rained 16 of the 23 days in June for a total of more than 14 inches according to the weather.com website, usually coming in spurts of several inches at a time.

And it is getting old. Very old. The ground is a sloppy, muddy mess. There are large ponds in ditches and in fields. My dad farms and so does my future husband and his family… this is WAAYY more rain than we want right now, not the best for the crops. My family’s farms have had significantly more rain than us here… can you imagine?!

The thing is, not only does it rain all the time, but it also storms. The type of storms where thunder shakes my little house and wakes me in the middle of the night, every night it seems. The type of storms where the wind break large, large trees in half, branches block roads (if they are not flooded) and your power is out for 12 hours. Ughh, that was my situation last night.

Now that you can visualize the situation, I am sure you understand that I am NOT making these in hopes of more rain, but rather because I am sick of SO much rain!!

These donuts are of a Brazilian heritages, they are called “rain donuts” for there raindrop like shape and are called “Bolinho De Chuva” in Portuguese.

I began using two recipes for the donuts, one from Big Oven and one from About.com.

Following is the recipe I used:

2 cups Flour
1/4 teaspoon Salt
1/4 cup Sugar
2 teaspoons Baking Powder
2 Eggs
1/2 cup Milk

Oil
1/2 cup Sugar
1 tablespoon Sugar

Stir together the flour, salt, sugar and baking powder. Make a well in center and pour in the milk and eggs. Stir together until well blended. Heat oil in fryer or skillet to 300 degrees. In small bowl mix the sugar and cinnamon together. Drop the dough by spoonfuls into the hot oil. Fry for 30-60 seconds. Remove from oil and coat with sugar and cinnamon mixture. Let cool for a few minutes before eating.

Comments
One Response to “Rain Donuts (Bolinho De Chuva)”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] selection of desserts and this German Brownie Torte, the Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars, and these Rain Doughnuts  were calling my name. Since I seem to have a slight thing for chocolate and peanut butter, […]



Leave a Reply

