Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars

I recently made a white cake in which I used only the egg whites, and I saved the yolks from the eggs to use in a different recipes. I searched the internet to find a new recipe using egg yolks and found this recipe for Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars III at allrecipes.com. I couldn’t resist trying it out! Generally when I try I recipe from allrecipes.com I search for recipe with not only a high rating, but also many reviews. Allrecipes.com can be a very helpful recipe search tool for that reason – it is so nice to be able to read what a lot of others have tried and learn what alterations worked or didn’t work. Unlike most of the recipes on that site that I choose, this one had a fairly small number of reviews.

I found more powdered sugar was needed in the topping to reach the “crumbly” texture that you want to have for the topping on these bars.

Krista’s Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars, modified slightly from Allrecipes.com

  • 1/2 cup Butter, Melted
  • 2 Egg Yolks
  • 2/3 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups Flour
  • 2/3 cup Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1/4 cup Butter, Melted
  • 1 cup Peanut Butter
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1 tablespoon Milk
  • 2 1/2 cups Powdered Sugar
  • 2 ounces Chocolate Bark

Using a pastry blender cut butter and egg yolks into the brown sugar and flour in a large bowl until the mixture is crumbly. Press evenly into a 9″ square pan. Bake in preheated 350 (F) degree oven for 12-15 minutes. Open oven and sprinkle chocolate chips over the crust, then bake for 2 more minutes. Remove from oven and spread the melted chocolate chips into a layer over the crust.

Mix the melted butter, peanut butter, vanilla, milk and powdered sugar. Mixture should be crumbly. Sprinkle the peanut butter mixture over the chocolate layer and press down lightly.

Melt chocolate bark and drizzle over the peanut butter layer. Refrigerate until serving and store bars in refrigerator.

Comments
7 Responses to “Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars”
  1. joelsgirl says:

    I found my way here from KevinandAmanda, and these are in the oven baking as I offer up my thanks. 🙂

  2. Jaime says:

    What temp is the oven suppose to be at?? Thanks.

    • meettheswans says:

      Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the comment! The baking temp should be 350 (F) degrees, thank you so much for the notice that was missing… I’ve added it to the recipe now!

  3. Debbie says:

    Oh my goodness .. I just made these. They are heavenly. Don’t forget to serve with a big glass of milk!

    • meettheswans says:

      You are right, Debbie – These go perfectly with a big glass of milk! I’m glad you left a comment on this post… I haven’t made these for such a long time! These will be the perfect item to bake for upcoming summer cook-outs!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] has an amazing selection of desserts and this German Brownie Torte, the Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars, and these Rain Doughnuts  were calling my name. Since I seem to have a slight thing for […]



Leave a Reply

