Chocolate Banana Nut Muffins

I love, love, love bananas. I have explained before, I always have bananas and I always have bananas that end up over-ripe before eaten.

I am hesitant to post this now… because I recently posted Espresso Banana Chocolate Chips Bars. But, I assure you, these Chocolate Banana Nut Muffins will not disappoint!

I am looking forward to my upcoming, and much needed, vacation. It is only sort of a “vacation” since it is really a trip for a work conference. But, I am still excited for it because Brett is coming along! I have a goal to visit all 50 states. I have already made it to more than half, so the opportunity to add two new ones is awesome. Brett has not traveled to as many states as me, and he suggested I start over and we go to all 50 together. He did not have to say that twice…. I quickly “un-checked” Hawaii and told him he now has to go there with me!

I was lucky to grow up in a family who took many “family vacations”. Like many families, may parents we on a budget. We always packed a cooler full of water, juice, and pop; lunch meat and cheese; and other snacks. We stopped at parks to eat lunch and then would eat one nice meal out each evening. So, that is how I travel. Fortunately for us, many of our meals are included with the conference. However, I still had to cover us on the way out there. I have water and Gatorade ready to be packed in a cooler. I am planning to make us lunch sandwiches to eat at a park or winery. And of course, I baked some goodies to take along… muffins and brownies.

More than a year ago I posted “Best” Banana Bread and I just wanted to point out that I do not deem something the “best” without careful consideration – that really is the best. banana. bread. I came up with these muffins based on that banana bread recipe. I just added some chopped walnut and mini-chocolate chips to the batter and scooped into muffins instead of loaves. I also halved it, because I did not need that many muffins. Absolutely delicious, and in case you are wondering, that makes these the “Best” Chocolate Banana Nut Muffins.

On another note, please bear with me on the upcoming (while “on business”) posts which will be pictures of a few cakes I have made recently.

My recipe:

1/2 cup butter
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
3 Tablespoon sour cream*
1 cup bananas, mashed
2 cup flour
1 cup miniature chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts

*May substitute 6 Tbsp. milk plus 1 tsp. vinegar

Cream butter, sugar and eggs. Add salt, soda, and spices. Beat in mashed bananas and sour cream. Stir in flour. Make into 12 muffins.

Comments
2 Responses to “Chocolate Banana Nut Muffins”
  1. Katrina says:

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE bananas as much as you do! Muffins are my favorite thing (one of) to do with overripe bananas, banana bread takes TOO long to bake! 😉
    I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

