Zucchini Brownies

This is my favorite time of the year! Hot weather, flowers in bloom, and most importantly an abundance of produce in the garden! Unfortunately, it never seems to last long enough. And even worse, over the pat several years while in college and grad school I just had to load up on trips home. I am looking forward to having our own garden at our house next summer!

I wish that I could have a garden all year, home-grown fresh produce is the best… and it is free (while it lasts)! And when you live in a small community it seems a neighbor always has extra they are willing to give away, so to see that it will get used by someone. Mr. Swan’s mom gave me two massive zucchinis over the weekend.

I immediately went home, cubed one and shredded the other.

With the shredded zucchini I made these moist and fudgy, but also slightly crumbly and cake-like brownies.

I began with a highly rated recipe from Allrecipes.com.  The changes I made were very minimal. I added a few spoonfuls of cocoa and subtracted a few spoonfuls of flour. Some of the reviews suggested these were too dry – the finished product is definitely NOT dry! I can see that people may have thought the batter was too dry before adding the zucchini, but do not worry about that. Once you add in the zucchini you were see that recipe does have enough moisture. It does take some time stirring after adding the zucchini before all of the dry ingredients are moistened.

I actually think it may solve this problem to mix the zucchini with the wet ingredients first. I have made this modification in my recipe below.

I did change the frosting recipe a bit to make it runnier, more like a glaze than a frosting. I also put it on the brownies while slightly warm and served immediately.

Zucchini Brownies:

  • 1/2 cup Oil
  • 1 1/2 cups Sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla
  • 2 cups Zucchini, Shredded
  • 2 cups Flour (optional: subtract a few spoonfuls)
  • 1/2 cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder (optional: add a few spoonfuls)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Baking Soda
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1/2 cup Walnuts (optional)

Frosting (my “runny” version):

  • 3 tablespoons Butter, Melted
  • 6 tablespoons Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1 1/2 cups Powdered Sugar
  • 1/4 cup Milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon Vanilla

Directions:

In large bowl, stir together oil, sugar, and zucchini. Combine flour, cocoa, soda and salt. Stir dry ingredients into zucchini mixture. Fold in walnuts, if desired. Spread evenly in a greased 9″x13″ baking pan. Bake in 350 degree preheated oven for 25-30 minutes. Set aside to cool.

Melt butter with cocoa. Blend together powdered sugar, milk and vanilla. Beat butter mixture into powdered sugar mixture. Spread over cooled brownies.

*As mentioned before, this is a runnier frosting that I spread on the brownies while slightly warm and served immediately. In not serving right away I would recommend letting the brownies cool completely before frosting.

Comments
8 Responses to “Zucchini Brownies”
  1. Just about to make these with some of the zucchini’s (courgettes) in our garden. They look delicious!

  2. Katrina says:

    Yum-me! I made a chocolate zucchini cake last year that was so moist and fabulous and you can’t even tell it has zucchini. http://www.bakingandboys.com/2009/08/zucchini-chocolate-cake-and-awesome.html
    I do love fresh produce and the endless possibilities for it!

  3. Sydney says:

    sounds awesome! I read this on my reader and really liked the format there, too!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Biscuits Healthy Chocolate Zucchini Muffins Whole Wheat Courgette Buns Zucchini Lemon Cookies Zucchini Brownies (I actually made these last year and they are great!) Share this:ShareLike this:LikeBe the first to […]

  2. […] by meettheswans on August 10, 2010 · Leave a Comment  A couple weeks ago in this post on Zucchini Brownies I raved about how much I love this time of year when I can bake and cook with fresh fruits and […]



Leave a Reply

