Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

In this post I am doing something I have never done before… I am using the picture from the website with the recipe instead of one I took on my own.

Here is the story: I made these cookies a few weeks ago, some friends came over and all were eaten before a picture. I made these cookies again last weekend and we rushed off taking them along as a snack for boating Saturday afternoon, and I did not get a picture in. With the end of the month approaching, and the original purpose of these cookies being to make the monthly Cookie Carnival round-up, I made these AGAIN last night. And, of course, I burnt them. I am not even taking a picture of them because who would want to see a picture of my burnt cookies? Although I am very sure I will be making these again, I really do not want to make them again in the next few days. Plus we are going to have plenty of cookies around for a while… because who would want to eat my burnt cookies?

The original recipe is from Pillsbury. The cookies were a hit the first two times I made them. I am going to add a twist the next time I made them and I will aim to get a good picture of those and post at that time. For now, the change I suggest is increasing the flour from 3/4 cup to 1 cup. I decided to do that the first time, thinking the dough seemed a little too soft. Even with the increase in flour the cookie were still slightly flatter than in the picture.

Here is my recipe:

  • 1/2 cup Butter
  • 3/4 cup Sugar
  • 1/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 cup Flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 1/2 cups Rolled Oats
  • 1/2 cup Raisins
  • 1/2 cup Chopped Nuts (optional)

Cream butter and sugars. Beat in egg. Mix together flour, soda, cinnamon and salt separately and then stir into butter mixture. Add oats, raisins and nuts, if desired. Drop by spoonfuls on greased cookie sheet. Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for ~10 minutes.

Comments
8 Responses to “Oatmeal Raisin Cookies”
  1. lol…I feel your pain about the picture. I bet they were yummy!! 🙂

  2. Tessa says:

    I tend to do that too, and I either end up getting a crappy picture or no picture at all. Glad your family seemed to like the cookies regardless of the lack of a photo. Oatmeal cookies are hard to beat!

  3. Rebecca says:

    Adding flour sounds like a good idea. My cookies came out VERY flat, though I think that my son liked the texture of that (quite different from the cookies I regularly make) quite a bit.

    • meettheswans says:

      The first time I made these I did not add the flour. Some people like flat, crispier cookies; but my personal opinion is that cookies look and taste better when they are thicker and chewier… so I added the flour to achieve that.

  4. astheroshe says:

    Oatmeal are my fav! …great job.I like the new webby!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

