Banana Cake with Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting

I have said it before and I will say it again, I love baked goods made with bananas! I came across this recipe for Banana Cake on a blog I have recently discovered called “How to Cook Like Your Grandmother”. It is an informative blog and very fittings, who does not think their grandmother is a good cook!?

I was anxious to try it and make the cake over the weekend. It was very tasty and had a good texture, but was slightly dried than some other banana cakes I have had. I did not use the frosting recipe suggested, but instead used a Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting that I have used in the past, you can find it in my Pumpkin Apple Muffins with Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting post from last year.

The cake recipe, followed directly from the site I found it on:

2 cups Sugar
1/2 cup Butter (1 stick)
2 Egg Yolks
3 cups Flour
2 teaspoons Baking Powder
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
1/2 teaspoon Salt
1 cup Milk
3 Bananas, smashed
1 teaspoon Vanilla
2 Egg Whites, Beaten

Cream the butter and sugar. Beat in egg yolks. In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients and stir to mix all thoroughly.

Divide dry ingredients into four portions and add to the butter/sugar alternately with 1/3 cup milk each time.

Mash the bananas well and add them to the batter along with the vanilla.

In another bowl, beat egg whites until they form stiff peaks. Carefully fold into the batter.

Pour the batter into 3 greased and floured 8″ round cake pans. Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for about 35 minutes, or until the center is done. Wait ten minutes after baking to remove from pans. Let cool completely and frost with Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting, or your preferred frosting.

Too add a little extra to the cake, I sprinkled brown sugar and chocolate shavings on the top of mine.

Comments
3 Responses to “Banana Cake with Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting”
  1. Amanda says:

    Yum, that looks delicious! Banana cake is always nice and moist, that’s why I like it so much. Beautiful pics too!

  2. Sue says:

    You grabbed me with that brown sugar cream cheese frosting! That sounds so good!!!

Leave a Reply

