Blueberry Buckle

A couple weeks ago in this post on Zucchini Brownies I raved about how much I love this time of year when I can bake and cook with fresh fruits and vegetables… not to mention, just eating them! This time around I am using a fruit which is actually one of my least favorite fruits. Blueberries are one of very few fruits that I cannot eat plain. I like them if they are in a mixture of fruit and I like them a lot if they are baked in to something yummy!

This is a recipe that I developed based on a number of other similar recipes. It is very much like a coffee cake with blueberries in it and it tastes similar to a blueberry muffin that has a streusel topping.

On another note, I cannot resist sharing how excited I am that I actually took these pictures!! I recently purchased a Canon Rebel SLR and I am still trying to figure out how to use it… but these pictures are definitely improvement over some of my past pictures, especially those from when I first started this blog!!

Krista’s Blueberry Buckle Recipe:

  • 1/4 cup Butter
  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1/3 cup Milk
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 cup Flour
  • 2 cups Fresh Blueberries

Topping:

  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup Sugar
  • 1/3 cup Flour
  • 1/4 cup Butter

Cream butter and sugar. Beat in egg and vanilla. Measure milk into glass measuring cup. In a separate bowl stir together dry ingredients. Alternately add milk and dry ingredients to butter mixture, stirring in each addition before adding the next. Gently stir in blueberries. Pour batter into greased 9″ baking pan. For topping, stir together the cinnamon, sugar and flour. Cut butter into dry ingredients until mixture resembles small crumbs. Sprinkle topping over batter in pan. Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for about 45 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Comments
2 Responses to “Blueberry Buckle”
  1. Tutifoodie says:

    mmm, thanks, I have been looking for a good blueberry buckle recipe. i cant wait to try this 🙂

Leave a Reply

