Wedding Cake: Sneak Peek

The wedding is just 3 days away! Words cannot even describe how fast the last 3 weeks have gone!! Between the upcoming wedding and working in the house, we have definitely kept ourselves busy…

It is not likely that I will manage to squeeze in another post before the wedding, so for now I give you the “Wedding Cake: Sneak Peek”!

Since I love baking and have made wedding cakes in the past, it was hard for me to adjust to the idea that I probably wouldn’t have time to spend the last two days before the wedding working on a cake. I came up with the idea that I could make the wedding if it was a “faux cake”!! So I found a fabulous cake stand (and a way to use that fountain I bought a long time ago just hoping I would find a way to use it) and syrofoam cake forms and worked on developing a vision for the cake! We hired someone (who happens to by my mom’s first cousin who makes delicious cakes – for those of you coming, definitely eat the cake…) to bake the sheet bake to be served. This works especially well, because the servers at our reception venue will serve the meal, clear the plates and then serve slices of cake already on plates to the guests.

A fake cake is wonderful for many reasons. For example, it is much easier to smooth fondant on stryrofoam than on cake. Also, it can be done much farther ahead than a regular cake. AND, it can even be set-up days before. I was very fortunate to be able to go to the reception venue yesterday and set-up the entire cake and cake stand… except for the very top tier which will be a small real cake that I am making. Hey, we gotta have something to cut into, right? I don’t really want styrofoam shoved in my face….

I also want to give props to the florist for the flowers on the cake, she came yesterday too and helped put those in place.

Since the cake is mostly set-up now, I took pictures which give  “sneak peek” of what the cake will look like! I am SO excited I got to make my own “wedding cake”. Again if you are coming to the wedding, be sure to check it out… for my other readers, I will definitely be posting pictures after!

Comments
6 Responses to “Wedding Cake: Sneak Peek”
  1. nutmegnanny says:

    This is beyond beautiful! You are such a brave bride to tackle such a big project! I hope your day is everything you ever dreamed 🙂

  2. Just lovely, Krista! And your flower choices of dendrobiums and calla lillies are my favorites.

    Wishing you well on your upcoming big day.

  3. Megan says:

    What a beautiful cake! My best friends son just got married and their cake was the same. The cake had to travel across countryso it had 3 or 4 styrofoam layers with real cake at the top. Then they served sheet cakes too! You did a fantastic job! I would say your keeping busy alright! 🙂 Happy wedding day!.

  4. Amanda says:

    Wow so beautiful from what I can see Krista! Congratulations, next post we see you will be MARRIED! 🙂

  5. How beautiful! And how excited you must be!!! Congratulations! Can’t wait to see more pics of your big day celebration!!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] did post a little “sneak peek” of our wedding cake just before our big day with promises of a full post with more photos after the wedding. More than four months later, I am […]



Leave a Reply

