Brand Loyalty & Apple Butter Cookies

UPDATE 10/7/2011: I was THRILLED to see the  CSI Project challenge theme for the week “Fall Food”! How amazing is that?! Click here to see all of the delicious challenge entries! Uhh-mazing! Apple Butter Cookies fit the theme perfectly, so I’m entering this recipe/post!
Visit thecsiproject.com

A few years ago my dad had to go through the unfortunate experience of having his combine burn up… yes, really! Lucky for him, he was nearly done with harvest and he had it fully insured. It was a “green machine” and the number of combines around the area that ended up the same way exceptionally high that year, especially for that machinery brand. However, my dad went right back to a John Deere combine the next year. Now you may be wondering, what does this have to do with anything?

That was a big display of brand loyalty. I am having a similar experience right now. No, my KitchenAid mixer isn’t on fire and it didn’t burn up, but what has happened is just as bad! For a few months now I could use it but I couldn’t turn it off unless I unplugged it. Mr. Swan thought he could fix it and well, now it’s broken. It doesn’t even turn on. I can’t pass all the blame onto him though, because I was sitting right there and agreed to everything he did. It was bad enough when it didn’t shut off, but now… it’s horrible!

I find it funny that a KitchenAid is supposed to “last a lifetime”, “outlast a marriage”, etc. You’ve heard those claims. Mine didn’t even last 3 whole years. And KitchenAid, I don’t even think that outlasts the average marriage in the U.S…. so that’s pretty bad. I do realize that I probably used mine more in 2.75 years than some people do in 20 years, but I think that’s irrelevant.

I am still holding out hope that I am going to get it fixed for less than half the cost of a new one. That’s my breaking point. If that doesn’t happen, I don’t think I’ll have any other option but to get a new one. And what would I get? A KitchenAid of course! I know, I can’t explain it. KitchenAid, if you are listening, I would happily accept a complimentary mixer to make up for my troubles. Remember, I am giving you free advertising right now!

My new oven is all hooked up and I have an island countertop, but I won’t have a dishwasher or sink until the rest of the countertop is installed. I wasn’t going to bake until the kitchen was finished. But then I saw the cookie recipes for the September Cookie Carnival and I couldn’t resist making them. So here goes the first of two, Apple Butter Cookies, the old fashioned way. The other September Cookie Carnival recipe are these Banana Breakfast Cookies.

When I first went to this recipe, I saw the picture and immediately thought these were sandwich cookies. You know, the kind where you bake two cookies and sandwich them together with some sort of filling?

I just discovered I could insert polls in posts, so I HAD to find something I could take a poll on….

These cookies are delicious. I LOVE baking with apples (if you also like baking with apples see my recently posted recipe for Snowy Glazed Apple Squares) and with this recipe I did it double. First I made homemade apple butter, and then I used the apple butter in these cookies. I used regular butter and 2 eggs – when you don’t have a way to wash dishes you don’t want to get an extra bowl dirty just to separate yolks and white. They turned out perfectly as far as I can tell. And in case you are still wondering, these are not a sandwich cookie. You actually drop some dough, add a spoonful of apple butter and top with more dough. They come out looking like a sandwich cookie.

First, delicious homemade apple butter:

Cream butter and sugar, then stir in molasses… notice I’m using my KitchenAid bowl, pretending like I am going to be able to use my mixer.

Stir in the sour cream:

Add eggs and apple butter and keep mixing:

Drop by spoonfuls of dough onto cookie sheet, then a spoonful of apple butter, and top off with another spoonful of dough:

Krista’s Apple Butter Cookies

  • 1/2 cup Butter
  • 3/4 cup Sugar
  • 1/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 tablespoon Molasses
  • 3/4 cup Sour Cream
  • 1/2 cup + 1/2 cup Apple Butter
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 cups Flour
  • 1/2 cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon Nutmeg
  • 3/4 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt

Beat butter, sugar and brown sugar until smooth. Stir in molasses, sour cream and 1/2 cup apple butter, then stir in eggs. In a separate bowl sift dry ingredients. Gently stir dry ingredients into butter mixture. Drop tablespoonfuls of dough onto baking tray lined with parchment paper or greased cookie sheet. Leave 1 1/2 inches between each. Spoon a teaspoonful of remaining apple butter onto the center of each cookie. Top each with another tablespoon of batter. Bake in preheated 325 degree oven for 15-18 minutes.

You’re still reading? You’re in luck! This is where you enter the first of two giveaways I announced earlier! This giveaway is for a $20 gift certificate to use at CSNStores.com. There are several ways to enter. You can get up with 3 entries per person – be sure to leave a comment for each entry or it won’t be counted.

#1: Leave a comment on this post telling me about your favorite fall dish or dessert to prepare.

#2: Become a fan on Facebook. You can do that by clicking here. AND then leave me a comment telling me you are now a fan – or that your already were a fan!

#3: Follow on Twitter. You can do that by clicking here. AND then leave a comment telling me you are now a follower – or that you already were, by giving me your Twitter ID in the comment!

Remember, each entry MUST be left in a separate comment to be included. The giveaway is open to USA and Canada residents only. The winner will be randomly selected using an online number randomizer. For your comment to be included as an entry it must be left between now and Saturday, October 9 at 11:59pm CST.

Comments
75 Responses to “Brand Loyalty & Apple Butter Cookies”
  1. Your photos are gorgeous! I’m definitely sorry I didn’t make these back in September 😉

  2. andrea dimario says:

    twitter follower
    drea8685 at yahoo dot com

    twitter id=
    drea8685

  3. dianad says:

    Favorite fall dessert is pumpkin pie. Thanks for the wonderful giveaway

  4. Yona says:

    I love making sweet potato pies. I also love the orange color of the pie.

  5. Yona says:

    Following you on Twitter (pricelessteam)

  6. Yona says:

    Im a new Facebook fan (Priceless Writers).

  7. Christie says:

    Meatloaf and mashed potatoes…sounds dumb, but my husband thinks that they are cold weather foods, and won’t eat them in the summer.

    • Kids Crops and Corn says:

      I love fall, maybe its the crops coming out of the field, maybe its the cool weather, or maybe its the homemade apple bread that is always around our house!!! It seems to b with every meal and the large amount of frozen apples I keep in supply makes it abundant in fall and winter!!!!

  8. Shanna C says:

    It just isn’t fall with my mama’s Pumpkin Roll and big steamin’ hot bowls of chili!

  9. Jennie says:

    I like plain old squash. Tastes like fall to me.

  10. FOLLOWING YOU ON TWITTER USER NAME :”kytah00″ kytah00@yahoo.com

  11. LIKED YOUR BLOG ON FACEBOOK VIA ANGEL JACKLYN facebook.com/kytah00 kytah00@yahoo.com

  12. MY FAVORITE DISH IS PUMPKIN PIE COME HALLOWEEN & CHRISTMAS kytah00@yahoo.com

  13. carol larsonk says:

    I love to make apple butter and I can’t wait to try these fabulous sounding cookies

  14. won says:

    Following on twitter (won2x).

    Thank you.

  15. won says:

    Liked on FB (Wendy T).

    Thank you!

  16. won says:

    A big ole pot of Chicken Chili is a good dish to prepare on a cool day 😉

    Thank you!

  17. Tina says:

    now these sound wonderful You know Uncle Fred makes apple butter and gave us a jar. Logan loved it in his oatmeal in the morning… great alternative to sugar!

  18. Wanda says:

    I am now following you on Twitter – @lemonslippers
    wandanamgreb(at)gmail(dot)com

  19. Wanda says:

    I am a fan on Facebook – Wanda Bergman
    wandanamgreb(at)gmail(dot)com

  20. Wanda says:

    My absolute favourite fall dessert is Pumpkin Pie. I can’t get enough of it!!
    wandanamgreb(at)gmail(dot)com

  21. Kate says:

    Carrot cake is my favorite this time of year. Yum! These cookies look delish!

  22. cindy says:

    Pumpkin, pumpkin, pumpkin. Bread, cookies, pie, you name it. I love pumpkin. 😀

    These cookies look scrumptious.

  23. Brandy says:

    MY favorite fall dish for meals are soups and for dessert, apple pie!

  24. Sydney says:

    and finally? I follow you on twitter 🙂

  25. KeepItSweet says:

    these look great, so far my favorite fall dish is a trifle i made

  26. Jane Bonacci says:

    Have “liked” you on FB for awhile, LOL!

  27. Jane Bonacci says:

    I’m always happy when it’s Gingerbread time again!

  28. Mare says:

    I’m now following you on twitter as tommygirl

  29. Mare says:

    My favorite fall dish to create is homemade vegetable soup. It’s just the right time to start eating soup again – especially on rainy days like we’ve been having here. But I have to admit that my favorite fall food comes from this local farm and it’s their apple cider donuts. SO VERY GOOD.

  30. Aimee says:

    My favorite fall item is pumpkin chocolate chip muffins.
    sunshine4342 at juno dot com

  31. Jess says:

    I love making apple and pumpkin butters – so yummy! Those cookies look delicious!!!

    bellybuttonsandbellylaughs(at)yahoo(dot)com

  32. Michele P. says:

    like you on facebook

  33. Michele P. says:

    those cookies look yummy! I love apple crisp in the Fall!

  34. couponboss says:

    My favorite is Pumpkin Chocolate Cheesecake…but I’m definitely making these cookies!!

  35. Tara says:

    twitter follower
    @huffychic

  36. Tara says:

    like on facebook
    Tara H

  37. Tara says:

    I love apple pie!

  38. Ashley says:

    I love to make Apple Crisp! It’s easy, I always have the ingredients on hand, and the house always smells delicious 🙂

  39. Serafina says:

    I love making pumpkin pie!

    serafinac (at) gmail (dot) com

  40. Grace says:

    My favorite fall dish is a panade – sort of a casserole of onions, swiss chard, cheese, and bread

  41. Kelly D. says:

    I follow you on twitter. (@dkad23)
    Kelly D. ~ dkad23(at)gmail(dot)com

  42. Kelly D. says:

    I like you on facebook. (Kelly Deaton)
    Kelly D. ~ dkad23(at)gmail(dot)com

  43. Kelly D. says:

    I love to make Peach Cobbler in the fall – yum! Thanks for the chance!
    Kelly D. ~ dkad23(at)gmail(dot)com

  44. Emily says:

    Pumpkin pie! And roasted squash too! Thanks for the giveaway!

  45. Lisa says:

    My favorite fall dish is pumpkin bread.

  46. Liza says:

    I really like to make pear crisp in the fall.

    Thanks for the chance to win!

    –Liza

    ejm6x (at) yahoo (dot) com

  47. Holly says:

    Hmm… I’m very partial to carrot cake and I love that you can find it available in several places this time of year. I’ve never made it myself, so maybe I’ll have to try this year! And, really, how can you go wrong with cream cheese frosting? Oh that’s right… YOU CAN’T!!

  48. debp says:

    I make homemade chicken noodle soup, and apple pie for dessert.
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

  49. scottsgal says:

    already a facebook fan

  50. scottsgal says:

    I love pumpkin pie with whipped cream

  51. Megan says:

    I now follow you on twitter!

  52. Megan says:

    I already *liked* you but I put you in my favorites too!

  53. Megan says:

    My favorite Fall dessert is definitely pumpkin snickerdoodle bars.I love anything pumpkin and these are killer! Your cookies look pretty awesome too.

  54. I’ve been a fan for a while now, but now I “Like” you, and I’m following your “Tweets”. 🙂 As for my favorite fall food, it HAS to be turkey and dressing! Pecan pie is good, too. As is anything pumpkin.

  55. Sydney says:

    oh and I follow you on Facebook- all versions of this site and its predecessors

  56. Sydney says:

    YAY! You totally made my day with today’s post!

    My fave fall dish is chili, either my grandma’s version with ground beef or the more “gourmet” version I found with flank steak, way more veggies and a nice porter at the end.

  57. Heidi Mc says:

    Following @MeetTheSwans via twitter! : )
    @HeidiHMc
    tyson 2468 (at) charter (dot) net

  58. Heidi Mc says:

    My favorite dessert to prepare for fall is Cinnamon Sugared Walnuts. Yum!
    Fun giveaway – thank you for the chance to win! : )
    tyson 2468 (at) charter (dot) net

  59. Jordan P says:

    I just made pumpkin spice pancakes the first morning of fall!! A great, tasty way to make the house smell great and my belly feel full!

  60. Katrina says:

    I made the banana cookies, but really want/wanted to make these, too, and haven’t been able to. They look really good. I made some homemade peach butter a few weeks ago that I want to try them with.

    • meettheswans says:

      These were great. Even if you don’t fit them in by the end of the month, you need to try them sometime! I would love to hear how the peach butter turns out, it would be great too I’m sure. I made the banana cookies and plan to post those tomorrow… I’ve been eating them for breakfast everyday this week!

  61. DeAnna Schertz says:

    Krista,
    Your blog post on your apple squares last week inspired me to bake with apples as well! I had the opportunity to go to Tanners last weekend and bought several pecks of apples – I then made my grandmother’s homeade apple crisp – it was so good!

    Fall is probably one of my favorite seasons because of the fact that there is still fresh produce available as well as the anticipation of the holiday season! I don’t know what it is about fall but the smell of a pumpkin or apple dessert in the oven makes it the season even more enjoyable! Great blog post! I do hope you get your Kitchen Aid fixed soon! -D

    • meettheswans says:

      Mmmm… Tanners! I’ve only been once, but I can tell it’s good I don’t live any closer to it or I’d be buying food and stuff there all the time =)

      • DeAnna Schertz says:

        I know – it is very addicting! If I also lived closer – it would not be a good situation! I am slowly but surely learning the ropes of Twitter but I am following your blog through e-mails! I think its cool how you have this all set up! You are going to have to teach me how to do one of these!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] up you know I have posted several recipes using apples lately, and I recently hosted a giveaway on this Apple Butter Cookies post. The winner already knows who she is. In fact, after I contacted her this morning and she received […]

  2. […] Butter on hand, my first choice cookie uses apple butter as an ingredient. I posted a different Apple Butter Cookies last week. Be sure to read that post and leave a comment on it to be entered in the $20 gift […]

  3. […] Posts Brand Loyalty & Apple Butter Cookies & A GIVEAWAY!Banana Breakfast CookiesMeet The SwansOur Wedding PhotosHome Remodel: The KitchenBanana Cake with […]

  4. […] Cookie Carnival hosted by Tami of Tami’s Kitchen Table Talk. Yesterday I posted the first, Apple Butter Cookies. By the way, did you see the giveaway in yesterday’s post? If not, you better head back to it […]

  5. […] Contest entry form Posted in: Gifts & Gift Cards Tags: Apple Butter, Brand Loyalty, Butter Cookies, Canada, Contest Entry, gift certificate, lots of prizes Next contest: Bo’s Bowl – Cookbook Giveaway […]

  6. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Krista Joy, Krista Joy. Krista Joy said: Hint: The post today is a long one… but you'll be happy you read all the way through! http://fb.me/IiPNIRHm […]



Leave a Reply

