Banana Breakfast Cookies

This is the second of two recipes I made for the September Cookie Carnival hosted by Tami of Tami’s Kitchen Table Talk. Yesterday I posted the first, Apple Butter Cookies. By the way, did you see the giveaway in yesterday’s post? If not, you better head back to it now and find what you need to do to enter to win!

If you would like to join in for next month you can let me know and I will pass along the news to Tami!

I was a little unsure about the carrots in these Banana Breakfast Cookies when I first saw the recipe, but they turned out great.

Isn’t it great when “breakfast” is in the name of the cookie? Then it is perfectly OK to eat cookies for breakfast. I have been eating these for breakfast all week! Mr. Swan eats cookies for breakfast nearly every day. I could make a nice breakfast and what does he want? Whatever cookies I have stocked in the freezer. Unfortunately not everyone is lucky enough to be able to eat cookies and milk for breakfast every morning AND before bed every night AND in the middle of the night if he wakes up and can’t sleep… and still manage to be a thin as he is!

Here is what I changed: I left out the raisins – do I really need to explain? I did not use organic bananas or organic carrots because I think conventional farm raised is much better and healthier than organic, I mean I was raised on a conventional farm and so was Mr. Swan we turned out OK didn’t we? My feelings on organic food are probably a post in themselves for a different time and a different day!

The coolest thing about this recipe is that I used Kind Arthur Wheat Flour! A friend of mine, Sydney, came to our wedding all the way from North Carolina. And not only did she come all the way from North Carolina she also got us TWO gifts. Not only did she gets us something I cannot wait to use from our registry, but she also gave me a box of Swan’s Down Cake Flour (fitting, I know!), Kind Arthur White Flour and King Arthur Wheat Flour – with a note attached that said “I can’t wait to see what you bake up with this”. For those of you who don’t know King Arthur Flour is a quality brand of flours and mixes that are not available everywhere. Thanks for the flour Sydney – here is one thing I baked up with it!

Krista’s Banana Breakfast Cookies Recipe:

  • 1/2 cup Butter
  • 3/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 cup Shredded Carrots
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 2 Bananas
  • 1 cup Wheat Flour
  • 1 cup Oatmeal
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon Nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 1/3 cup Walnuts

In a mixing bowl cream butter and sugar. Beat in egg, carrots, banana and vanilla until smooth. Gradually mix in all dry ingredients until batter is firm. Stir in walnuts and mix until just incorporated. Drop batter by tablespoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet and press down to flatten. Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 12 minutes.

Comments
10 Responses to “Banana Breakfast Cookies”
  1. More gorgeous pictures 🙂 I make a pumpkin chocolate-chip “breakfast” cake for my daughters….lol….

    • meettheswans says:

      Actually, there is a Banana Chocolate Chip Cake that I posted on here a long time ago that I just made subbing pumpkin for the banana but I haven’t posted it yet! Maybe it’s similar to the one you make!

  2. Carrots, bananas and oatmeal! What a healthy combination for some healthy cookie recipe. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I will surely try this and give some for my grandma’s nutritious snacks.

    • meettheswans says:

      Thanks for your comment. I wasn’t sure what to think about the carrots, but they turned out good! You are right, the carrots, bananas and oatmeal make these sound like a healthy combination!

  3. Rose Gold says:

    Banana cookies? It’s my first time to hear that one. I probably try this one since I am already sick of pumpkin cookies. I just hope that my kids will love it too. Thanks for your recipe.

  4. Lisa says:

    Yum, those sound so healthy. Love their texture and color.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] My new oven is all hooked up and I have an island countertop, but I won’t have a dishwasher or sink until the rest of the countertop is installed. I wasn’t going to bake until the kitchen was finished. But then I saw the cookie recipes for the September Cookie Carnival and I couldn’t resist making them. So here goes the first of two, Apple Butter Cookies, the old fashioned way. The other September Cookie Carnival recipe are these Banana Breakfast Cookies. […]



Leave a Reply

