Iced Oat-Apple Butter Cookies

UPDATE 10/7/2011: I was THRILLED to see the  CSI Project challenge theme for the week “Fall Food”! How amazing is that?! Click here to see all of the delicious challenge entries! Uhh-mazing! These Iced Oat-Apple Butter Cookies are a great treat… and they almost seem healthy?! The apples and oatmeal at least… These are a great “fall food”, so I’m entering this recipe/post in the CSI Challenge!
Visit thecsiproject.com

It doesn’t hardly seem like we should be talking about Christmas already, but it is kind of hard to ignore if you have set foot in a store lately. Christmas trees, lights, decorations… they are everywhere. So why not start thinking about your Christmas list? Your list of Christmas cookies to make of course! I am participating in a new group called “12 Weeks of Christmas… Cookies”  hosted by Abby of Abby Sweets. Unfortunately I missed out on Week 1 last Friday. Yes, that means Christmas is only 11 weeks away this time around!

With fresh Apple Butter on hand, my first choice cookie uses apple butter as an ingredient. I posted a different Apple Butter Cookies last week. Be sure to read that post and leave a comment on it to be entered in the $20 gift certificate giveaway!

If you would like to make your own apple butter, click here to see my Homemade Apple Butter Recipe.

The original recipe I based mine off of was Martha Stewart’s Iced Oatmeal-Applesauce Cookies. I used the basic idea from her recipe, but I changed a number of the ingredients. I subbed apple butter for the applesauce. I cut back on sugar because apple butter is sweeter than applesauce. I added cinnamon and increased the amounts of flour and baking powder. I also eliminated the raisins and added maple flavoring to the icing.

When I first tried one of these as soon as they came out of the oven, I thought maybe I had reduced the sugar too much. But, once I added the maple icing they were just right! Be sure to add the icing before judging the sweetness. As on commenter also pointed out, these remind me of Archway Iced Oatmeal Cookies… only better because they are homemade!

Krista’s Iced Oat-Apple Butter Cookie Recipe:

  • 4 tablespoons Butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 cup Apple Butter
  • 1 1/2 cups Oatmeal, Old-Fashioned Oats
  • 1 1/2 cups Flour
  • 1 /2 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cup Powdered Sugar

Icing:

  • 2 tablespoons Pure Maple Syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon Maple Extract
Mix butter and sugars until well combined. Beat in egg and apple butter. Stir in oats, flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Drop by spoonfuls onto a greased baking sheet. Bake cookies in preheated 350 degree oven for 12-15 minutes. Cool completely before frosting. To make icing, whisk powdered sugar, syrup and extract. Add enough water (1-3 tablespoons) to reach desired consistency. Drizzle over cookies and let the icing set before eating or storing.
I would like to include a thumbnail image of the pictures from everyone, but I am having problems getting the link tool to work. If any of you know how to accomplish this on a WordPress blog that is not self-hosted, I would love to hear from you! In the meantime, I have linked the image below to another blog where you can see all of the participants. Click the “12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies” to see what cookies others have posted this week!
This post is also included in the Foodie Friday Round-Up and the I’m Lovin’ It Friday Round-Up. Click the images below to see all of those posts!
Comments
24 Responses to “Iced Oat-Apple Butter Cookies”
  1. Melynda says:

    Mmm…I think I need to make some apple butter so I can make these cookies.

  2. Jamie says:

    A very unique cookie with the apple butter. I love the icing on them.

  3. Yum! Oatmeal cookies are my favorite – I bet adding apple butter puts them over the edge. I want to try them!

  4. Bonnie says:

    These are so pretty. I can pretend they are healthy too. Well, they sort of are, aren’t they? And they sound absolutely delcious.

  5. I really like this whole project – from the apple butter to the maple icing. I bet the house smells delicious!
    I’ll be giving this a try soon. Thanks!

  6. avril says:

    Oh my YUMMINESS!!! I love everything about these cookies! – the oats, the apple butter and the frosting!

    Excited to bake with you over the next couple of months!

    Happy Weekend,
    ~avril 🙂

  7. Kids Crops and Corn says:

    Well my girls love to cook and three times a week I let all the kitchen rules slide and allow the “mini ones” to help out and I just wanted to let you know next week it will be your cookies we will be making or should I say wearing !!!! LOL With the canning almost finished this season looks like your blog will be in high demand at our house!!!!

  8. megan says:

    I have seen quite a few posts regarding homemade apple butter – I just need to get motivated to make some. After all, I have three crockpots!

    These were an excellent choice – they look so good!

  9. crustabakes says:

    homemade apple butter and maple frostings! can these cookies be any better?

  10. Katrina says:

    Those look great, Krista. Isn’t there a store bought (Archway maybe) cookie just like that? Your probably taste much better, especially with homemade apple butter. My recipe this week uses the apple butter I made, too!

    • meettheswans says:

      Yes! I meant to write that in my post… these taste very much like a store bought cookie I’ve had before. I didn’t know what it was though!! I’ll check out your post too, I still have a lot of apple butter left to use!

  11. ButterYum says:

    I’m glad you posted this recipe – I was just going to google apple butter cookie/bread recipes, but now I don’t have to. Happy FF.

    🙂
    ButterYum

  12. Katie Rose says:

    mmm, maple frosting, what a great idea!

  13. Sue says:

    These look so good! Homemade apple butter too? Wow! Very ambitious, and delicious! Like the icicng too:)

  14. Lisa says:

    Those cookies look absolutely delicious, especially with all that icing on top.

  15. Pam says:

    These look delicious! I love the idea of apple butter! Thanks for sharing these!

  16. April says:

    These look delicious!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] With the advent of autumn, certain things are expected. The riding boots and cowboy boots have already made their appearance. Pumpkin muffins are around the corner. Today, however, was all about apples. Apple butter cookies to be specific. I found this recipe several years ago on a blog called “Meet the Swans” and have used it to mark the changing season ever since. Find the original recipe here. […]

  2. […] eat apple butter, you could make some and use it in these Apple Butter Cookies I posted last week OR these Iced Oat-Apple Butter Cookies. Plus there is still one day left to enter to win the $20 Gift Certificate Giveaway by leaving a […]



Leave a Reply

