Oreo Swirl Brownie Bars – 12 Weeks of Christmas

Yesterday Mr. Swan and I were discussing Christmas…

He said, “I know it’s still far away, but it always comes so fast.”

I said, “Yes, it’s 10 weeks away”.

He replied, “Wow! Not like you’re counting down or anything…!!”

I laughed and reminded him of how I am participating in the “12 Weeks of Christmas” blogging round-up. This is week 3… which means it is 10 weeks ’til Christmas right NOW!

One of my good friends, Danae, is getting married on New Year’s Eve (if you’re paying attention… that is 11 weeks away!) and is planning a Black & White themed wedding… which I am obviously a fan of! To be exact, her colors are Black, White AND Bling! I was happy to have her as a bridesmaid  in our wedding, and I am super excited to stand-up with her as well. She didn’t want a cake, but instead wanted a dessert table with cupcakes, truffles, and cookies. To stick with her B&W theme, I suggested her desserts be B&W too… and what says B&W like Oreo and Cheesecake? Nothing! I am planning a blinged-out (had to say that) dessert table featuring a lot of B&W, Oreo and Cheesecake themed desserts.

I am going to see Danae this weekend so I have been working on samples. I have decided to use one of my selections for her wedding, Oreo Swirl Brownie Bars, as my cookie for this week’s “12 Weeks of Christmas” post and a few other groups you can find links to at the end of the post. There are a TON of different recipes (and names) for brownies with Oreos and cream cheese. I developed this recipe after reviewing a number of different versions on the web.

Krista’s Oreo Swirl Brownie Bars

  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 tablespoons Hot Water
  • 1 teaspoon Instant Coffee Powder
  • 1/2 cup Butter
  • 3/4 cup Sugar
  • 1 cup Flour
  • 1/2 cup Cocoa, Unsweetened
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 cup Oreo Cookies, Coarsely Chopped
  • 8 ounces Cream Cheese
  • 1/2 cup Powdered Sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla

Crack eggs in a bowl and beat slightly. Stir instant coffee into 2 tablespoons of boiling water and set aside. Melt butter in small saucepan on stovetop. Add sugar and bring to a boil while constantly stirring; boil for 1 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in coffee mixture. Set aside to cool about 10 minutes.

While that mixture in cooling, beat cream cheese, powdered sugar and vanilla together in separate bowl until smooth. Set aside.

Once the butter/sugar mixture has cooled, quickly beat eggs into butter mixture.

Sift flour, cocoa powder and salt. Stir into butter mixture until just combined and then add the chopped cookies.

Spread half of the brownie batter into a 8×8″ square baking dish lined with foil and greased. Spread cream cheese mixture on top of brownie layer and the drop remaining brownie batter by spoonfuls on top. Use a knife to swirl the two batters together.

Bake in preheated 350 degree (F) oven for 25-30 minutes. Cool completely before removing from pan and cutting.

As I mentioned last week, WordPress does now allow me to add the code to show a link tool. So click the images below to go to another site that does show links to all of the posts by the other bloggers participating in these groups!

Comments
27 Responses to “Oreo Swirl Brownie Bars – 12 Weeks of Christmas”
  1. Sounds like a great alternative to wedding cake!

  2. Oh my goodness, I cannot imagine a better brownie!

  3. April says:

    These look so good!

  4. Avril says:

    Oh Happiness!!! – I just love everything about these delightful brownies!!! – I. CAN. NOT. WAIT. TO. MAKE. THESE!!!!!

  5. Amanda says:

    Those sound amazing, wish I had one right now! 😉

  6. Chip says:

    One of my best friends and business partners loves brownies, I cant wait to make these for him and see what he thinks. They look amazing!

  7. Melynda says:

    I have added these to my list. I think these sound amamzing!!

  8. megan says:

    anytime you mention “oreos” and “brownies” in the same sentence, you have my attention.

  9. Katrina says:

    Those look divine, Krista. Love the black/white wedding idea. My wedding was just white and greenery.

    Just saw mini black & white cookies in Martha Stewart’s Cookies book.

  10. Holy smokes these look amazing!!!

  11. Dreamgoddess says:

    These sound so yummy! I can’t wait to make them for my family.

  12. Megan says:

    What a coincidence, I’m going to a Black and White Ball for my daughters 16th birthday! But it’s 12 weeks away. Keep the black and white ideas coming. I’m paying attention!!!

  13. Sue says:

    Oreos in a brownie, plus cream cheese! WOW, these sound deliciously rich! YUM:)

  14. Krista says:

    Oh, yum. All of my favorite things: Brownie, cheesecake, and oreos together! What a happy day!

  15. Lisa says:

    You’re the first person I’ve seen to combine Oreos into a cheesecake brownie. I think it’s a great idea that takes them to a whole new level and makes them more like my favorite flavor, cookies and cream. They’re the triple trifecta of brownies.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] pumpkin pie white chocolate cups fluffy baked doughnuts super cute petite vanilla bean scones http://picky-palate.com/2010/11/03/peanut-butter-cookie-cream-cheese-candy-bars/ oatmeal caramel candy treats oreo swirl brownie bars […]



Leave a Reply

