Caramel Apple Butter Ring Cake

Caramel Apple Butter Ring Cake

A few weeks ago I went on a wine trail trip with a bunch of girlfriends for a bachelorette party. We had an awesome group, there were almost 30 of us! We were all asked to bring food to take along to the wineries. We were meeting to get on our bus at 10am that day, so I thought a coffee cake would perfect for us to snack on in the morning. I had just made this Homemade Apple Butter, so I wanted to make something that I could put Apple Butter in. After searching and reviewing a number of apple cake and apple butter cake recipes, I developed this recipe. The combination of apple butter (used in the cake and filling), sour cream, cream cheese and caramel is completely different from anything I came across in my research. I got a lot of compliments on it from the gals on the trip and by the end of the day the only remains were a few crumbs!

Unfortunately I did not take pictures while preparing this. I know I will be making this again, so I will edit this post to include those soon!

Don’t forget, only one more day to enter my Pampered Chef giveaway. Click here to find out how to enter to win! Also, I have a giveaway for the first person who offers to host a party and books with me. Let me know right away if you are interested in hosting or if you would like to learn more about the great things you get when you host a party!

Krista’s Caramel Apple Butter Ring Cake

Cake:
  • 1/4 cup Butter
  • 1 cup Brown Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/4 cup Sour Cream
  • 1/2 cup Apple Butter
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon Nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 1/2 cups Flour
Filling:
  • 4 ounces Cream Cheese
  • 1/4 cup Sugar
  • 1/4 cup Apple Butter
  • 2 tablespoons Caramel Ice Cream Topping
Topping:
  • Caramel Ice Cream Topping
  • Walnuts and/or Pecans

Grease a ring cake pan, bundt cake pan, or a regular 8″ or 9″ baking pan. Preheated oven to 350 (F) degrees.

Cream butter and brown sugar. Beat in eggs. Blend in sour cream and apple butter. Sift dry ingredients together in separate bowl. Stir dry ingredients into butter mixture and mix until just blended.

Spread half of the batter into prepared pan and set aside remaining batter.

In a separate bowl beat cream cheese and sugar. Blend in apple butter and caramel ice cream topping. Spoon on top of batter and spread across surface of batter, trying not to incorporate into batter.

Spoon remaining batter on top of the cream cheese layer.

Bake in preheated oven for about 45 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean.

Remove from oven and allow cake to cool for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and invert onto serving tray. Let cool another 20 minutes. While cake is still warm spoon more caramel ice cream topping over cake and top with chopped walnuts and/or pecans.

Cut into slices and enjoy… I would recommend serving while still warm!

See more great Thanksgiving recipes below! If you have a recipe that’s a favorite at Thanksgiving, please add it. (Please type in the name of the recipe, not YOUR name 🙂 in the box below)

You can also share with your readers by adding this to your blog. Use this code:

<script  src=http://www.inlinkz.com/cs.php?id=24340></script>

Comments
2 Responses to “Caramel Apple Butter Ring Cake”
  1. Megan says:

    What a wonderful little cake to take on a wine trail. I can see why it was gobbled up!

  2. Lisa says:

    The list of ingredients alone has got my attention. This looks like an incredible cake and how can it not be with caramel and cream cheese mixed in it. I love how everyone is making apple recipes now.

Leave a Reply

