Pumpkin Cran-Oat Cookies

Pumpkin Cookies 3crop

Yesterday’s radio announcement “57 shopping day left before Christmas” definitely caught my attention. With the cold temps and high winds, not to mention power outages at home this week – I would believe that Christmas holiday season isn’t too far off!

Last week I used pumpkin to make these Pumpkin Pie Snickerdoodle Bars, and I am making a pumpkin recipe again this week. These Pumpkin Cranberry Oat Cookies are my entry for this round of the “12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies”, but the combination of pumpkin and cranberries makes them a fitting choice for Thanksgiving as well. I am including these cookies in two other groups as well – links are at the end of this post.

I started with the recipe for Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies from another blog, My Baking Addiction. This was one of the recipes selected by Tami of Tami’s Kitchen Table Talk for the October Cookie Carnival, click the image below to visit her site.

As usual I made a few changes, using  dried cranberries instead of cherries, chopped white chocolate instead of white chocolate chips,  my own blend of spices instead of pumpkin pie spice and adding chopped nuts.

Krista’s Pumpkin Cran-Oat Cookies

  • 1 cup Butter
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 1 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup Pumpkin Puree
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 2 cups Flour
  • 1 1/2 cups Old-Fashioned Oats
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 2 teaspoons Cinnamon, Ground
  • 1 teaspoon Nutmeg, Ground
  • 1/2 teaspoon Cloves, Ground
  • 1/2 teaspoon Ginger, Ground
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup White Chocolate, Chopped
  • 1 cup Dried Cranberries
  • 1/2 cup Walnuts, Chopped
  • 1/2 cup Pecans, Chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F). Beat butter and sugars with mixer until light and fluffy. Beat in egg, then add pumpkin and vanilla. In a separate bowl combine flour, oats, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves. Stir flour mixture into butter mixture and then blend in white chocolate, cranberries and nuts.

Drop by spoonfuls onto a greased or lined backing sheet. Bake in preheated oven for ~12 minutes.

As I mentioned in previous 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies posts, WordPress does now allow me to add the code to show a link tool. So click the images below to go to another site that does show links to all of the posts by the other bloggers participating in these groups!

And a special one this week, Sweet Pea at the Newlyweds Blog has a Pumpkin Recipe Round-Up:

See more great Thanksgiving recipes below! If you have a recipe that’s a favorite at Thanksgiving, please add it. (Please type in the name of the recipe, not YOUR name 🙂 in the box below)

You can also share with your readers by adding this to your blog. Use this code:

<script  src=http://www.inlinkz.com/cs.php?id=24340></script>

Comments
14 Responses to “Pumpkin Cran-Oat Cookies”
  1. Deeba says:

    I love that you made your own pie spice mix. These cookies look delicious!

  2. Amanda says:

    LOVE me some cranberries! 🙂 Looks great!

  3. Maggie says:

    These sound addictive – I like your choices in changing a few of the flavors.
    Maggie

  4. Sue says:

    So many great flavors in one cookie! Delicious!

  5. ButterYum says:

    These sound great – can’t wait to give them a try.

    🙂
    ButterYum

  6. Lisa says:

    Way to continue with the pumpkin theme. It looks like it just keeps getting better and better with each week. Don’t forget to check back next Monday on my blog for a chance to enter my CSN giveaway.

  7. Delicious, I can imagine this combo is sooo good. I am hosting a pumpkin linky on my blog this week and would love for you to join in.

  8. Lee Ann says:

    These look so yummy!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Breakfast~Pumpkin Cran-Oat Cookies!by Robin on November 23, 2010I found a delightful blog The Swans when I was looking for something new and amazing to make with a hidden can of pumpkin I found in my […]



Leave a Reply

